Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Big sis and family were in town for the weekend.  I took a few days off from work to rest up before and after their trip.  The timing worked out because I was sick the week before they arrived and with the help of over-the-counter cold medication, successfully sent the bugs away.  I was a little under the weather the first day they arrived but at least I was well enough to enjoy our time together.

I saw them last month for my Calgary/Banff trip but my niece seems to have grown so much since then!  She was sounding out words as she tried to spell and reading me the little storybook she “created” (translation – the teacher printed up the simple story line and the students illustrated with pictures).  My baby niece is no longer a baby or a toddler… sigh…

They left midday yesterday.  It was nice to be able to spend some time with them in the morning before they were off to the airport.  I miss my niece’s spontaneous hugs, holding my hand as we walked down the street and leaning on me while we watched television together.  I wonder how long that phase will last — will I still be the cool auntie when she comes out to visit next year…?  It’s probably too early to worry about that now.

Speaking about a month….How quickly a month goes by!  It was time for another eating adventure with my dear friend, V.  After big sis and her family were off to the airport, I spent the rest of the day with V and baby vk.  Neither V nor myself had an idea of where to go for lunch so we agreed to return to our usual Cafe de l’Orangerie.

Usual, you ask?  Yes, we’ve been there a few times.  Let’s rewind to a few months ago.  I first heard about (saw) Cafe de l’Orangerie when L and J took me out for a super early birthday dinner at the Malaysian restaurant next door.  (You’re right, I haven’t blogged about that restaurant yet.)  L mentioned that his brother said the food was pretty good and we should try it some day.  We looked at the menu on our way back to the car and the concept of japanese pasta caught my attention.

A few weeks later (in the spring), I was hanging out with V for another one of our eating adventures.  We were meeting our friend Felicia for lunch and needed to pick a convenient location for three adults and two babies.  Marpole seemed like a central location and I suggested Cafe de l’Orangerie.  I was keen on trying it and sharing these first food experiences with good friends is more fun than going alone.

Although we were having a late lunch, there was still a steady flow of customers in and out of the restaurant.  We were seated at a table away from the “high traffic” area and with space for the baby strollers on either side of the table. This was perfect as it allowed the two little ones some time to nap while the three adults discussed important decisions (aka order food) and shared updates.

We decided to share a few items:

Poutine

Poutine

Homemade Croquette

Homemade Croquette

inside the Homemade Croquette

inside the Homemade Croquette

Curry Pork Cutlet

Curry Pork Cutlet

Masago de creamy Spaghetti

Masago de creamy Spaghetti

Mmm… the food was delicious.  I particularly liked the poutine and the curry cutlet.  The croquette was good but was no comparison to the tasty blend of the fries, cheese and gravy of poutine.  The curry was flavourful and I enjoyed the little kick that it had.  The Masago Spaghetti was interesting but a bit too creamy (and fishy?) from my taste.  V really enjoyed the Masago Spaghetti so when it came down to determining who would clean off which dish, it worked out quite well.

By the time we finished our meals, the babies were awake and getting acquainted with each other.  Dessert was not part of my original plan as I was full from finishing the curry and the rice.  However, when I looked at the dessert menu, I could not resist the call of the sesame parfait.  And, of course, there’s always room for dessert!  😉

Black Sesame Dango Parfait

Black Sesame Dango Parfait

Zunda Dango Parfait

Zunda Dango Parfait

Felicia and I each ordered a Black Sesame Dango Parfait and V ordered the Zunda Dango Parfait.  Apparently the green is not green tea ice cream but edamame.  Interesting…!  I tried a bite of V’s dessert but I prefer my Black Sesame dessert.  I am not sure why but over the past year, I’ve taken quite a liking to sesame desserts.  Yum yum!  It was a fabulous afternoon of food and enjoyable time with friends.

Since then, V and I have been back a couple of times for our monthly eating adventures.  We found ourselves there in the summer when both of us were having a black sesame parfait craving.  Instead of trying something different, she ordered the Masago Spaghetti and I ordered the Curry Pork Cutlet.  We each ordered our favourite so no sharing was required.  Oh yes, and individual orders of the black sesame parfait.  I didn’t bother taking photos that time since the food looked the same as our meal with Felicia.

Fast forward the clock to yesterday, neither V nor I had suggestions for any new places to try so we opted for our usual Cafe de l’Orangerie.  She was craving the spaghetti and I was craving the black sesame parfait.

As always, the staff are friendly and fantastic.  I went in to get a table while V was rolling the baby stroller up the walkway.  When I realized V was almost at the door, I turned to get the door for her.  One of the servers told me it was okay and he rushed out to hold the door for her as she came in with the stroller.

When we finally settled at our table, we took a quick look at the menu before placing our order.  V ordered her masago spaghetti and I decided to try something different, the Sweet & Sour Chicken Nanban.  We also ordered a poutine to share.  The fries in the poutine are so tasty.  I was looking at the poutine and thinking something seemed different about it.  You’d think I would have noticed from the colour but it took me a few extra bites to realize that they were using cheddar cheese in the poutine.

Poutine

Poutine

Masago de creamy Spaghetti

Masago de creamy Spaghetti

Sweet & Sour Chiken Nanban

Sweet & Sour Chiken Nanban

When it came time to order dessert, I ordered my black sesame parfait.  V decided to go for the Zunda Dango Parfait.

Zunda Dango Parfait

Zunda Dango Parfait

Black Sesame Dango Parfait

Black Sesame Dango Parfait

I was surprised when my dessert came out in a bowl as the last few times I was there, the black sesame parfait was served in a tall glass.  V is right though, the dessert is easier to eat out of the bowl than out of the tall glass.  To me, it tastes just as delicious!

Cafe de l'Orangerie on Urbanspoon

