Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend was the Thanksgiving long weekend.  Unsurprisingly, I had no plans except for sleeping in and relaxing.  The weather forecast indicated rain, rain and heavy rains.  I had hoped to run the track on any one of the three mornings but that did not happen.  I can hear it already, in unison, big sis and N both saying there is nothing wrong with running in the rain.  There is nothing wrong with running in the rain except that after completing the Melissa Road Race, I reverted back to being a casual runner (non-rainy, weekend mornings when I have no lunch plans).

Since I didn’t make it to the track, what were my top three long weekend activities?  Top activity was sleeping – I fulfilled my intentions of sleeping in.  Skipping to third on the list, I also worked on my latest knitting project.  The silk bamboo yarn is so smooth and soft to the fingers that it cushions the slow progress of the project.

my current knitting project

my current knitting project

If I ranked sleeping as my top activity and knitting as third on a top three chart, what came second?  Blogging.  I spent the greater portion of my waking hours blogging.  Three blog posts in three days. In fact, I posted twice on the same day — once in the wee hours (just after midnight) and the other at the end of the day (shortly after dinner).

I utilized the “preview” function to catch fragmented sentences and easy-to-spot errors.  After round one edits. the “publish” button allowed me one more sweep of the blog post to catch some grammatical errors, spelling mistakes and questionable words,  The program catches some but not all and unfortunately, after the posts were published, I found a lot more errors that the preview and publish functions overlooked.

Alright, enough about my long weekend.  Time to return my attention to the Calgary/Banff trip.  🙂

After a fun day in Banff, we started our drive back to Calgary.  My dear little niece spent the first fifteen minutes repeatedly singing a song (from a kid’s movie?).  When the singing suddenly stopped, we turned around to look at her and she was fast asleep.  I knit a few more rows in the car but soon found it very therapeutic — and fell asleep as well.  By the time I woke from my nap, we were approaching Calgary.

N and I stayed overnight in Calgary before flying back to Vancouver.  We had a reservation at Hotel Elan, a boutique hotel ranked by TripAdvisor to be one of the top three hotels in Calgary. Big sis and Jehfu dropped us off at the hotel and came upstairs to check out our room.

IMG_20140927_192700 IMG_20140927_181753 IMG_20140927_181807 IMG_20140927_182236IMG_20140927_181937IMG_20140927_182320

The room was sooooo nice!  It was warm and inviting with so many room amenities. The warm colour scheme, the comfortable bed (even pillows were labelled!) and a bit of everything in the room – perfect place N and myself to relax after our run in Banff.

After taking photos of the room from various angles, I decided to check out the washroom.  Oh my!  If only my washroom at home was like that.  A bright and cheery washroom with separate water closet with a heated toilet seat.  The shower had both the rainfall shower head and a hand shower.  The floors were heated to add to our comfort.  Soooo nice!  It was unfortunate that we were only staying one night.  I wouldn’t mind staying a few more nights.

IMG_20140927_181840 IMG_20140927_183722 IMG_20140927_222009 IMG_20140927_221943

The hotel also offers complimentary wi-fi and continental breakfast.  The wi-fi is important for travellers like me who love to surf the web.  The continental breakfast had a nice spread to offer.

IMG_20140928_095737 IMG_20140928_092955 IMG_20140928_094154

my plate of breakfast

my plate of breakfast

oatmeal with brown sugar

oatmeal with brown sugar

The breakfast tasted okay.  There was lots to choose from.  Unfortunately the waffles were too hard.  I could not barely cut through the waffles with my knife.  Perhaps they sat around for too long and were dried out?

Big sis and family came by to pick us up at 11 am (check out time).  We still had lots of time before our flight so Jehfu suggested driving us to the neighbouring towns to look around.   Our first stop was Bragg Creek.  We took a quick look around before moving on to the next place.

in Bragg Creek

in Bragg Creek

Our next stop was Turner Valley.  Big sis mentioned that they had not eaten breakfast yet so we decided our first stop in Turner Valley would be to find some breakfast for them.  We found a place called Coyote Moon.  As I tried to get out of my seat, I noticed that my muscles were sore, in particular my leg muscles.  I guess the 10K of running from the day before was finally catching up with me.  Gusts of wind greeted us as we exited the vehicle.  Yup, I needed a warm drink.

IMG_20140928_131205

IMG_20140928_124043 IMG_20140928_123854

Big sis and Jehfu ordered the breakfast specials.  N and I just wanted a warm drink and a little snack.  I ordered a London Fog.  I had a sudden craving for grease and asked for a side order of hash browns.

Monkey French Toast

Monkey French Toast

Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict

Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict

N's drink on the left, my London Fog on the right

N’s drink on the left, my London Fog on the right

my order of hash browns

my order of hash browns

The breakfast specials looked tasty.  Presentation was definitely appetizing and I understand from Big sis, Jehfu and my niece that the breakfast was delicious.  I think my niece had at least half of the French toast and more.  It’s too bad I was not hungry enough to order a breakfast.  I can say that the hash browns were yummy wedges of fluffy potato.  The London Fog in the pretty mug was perfect for warming up from the windy weather.

Coyote Moon Cantina and Espresso Bar on Urbanspoon

We left Coyote Moon and walked across the street to take some photos of the neighbourhood before driving to our next destination.  We stopped by Diamond Valley where we picked up some handmade products.

Turner Valley

Turner Valley

IMG_3954

Diamond Valley

Diamond Valley

IMG_3956

I had to purchase something downtown so we went back to downtown Calgary.  It’s unfortunate my shopping experience was marred by a rude downtown department store salesperson.  Not one to file complaints, I found her attitude so disrespectful and impatient that I actually filled out the store’s online survey and left them a lengthy comment about my bad experience.  (As a side note, yes, I received a phone call back from some management person in that department store.  He apologized and assured me that the employee was spoken to.  Too late, isn’t it?  The damage is already done.  Now that I think about it, I should have asked him to tell her to apologize to me.  Oh well… I’m debating if I want to take the item back for a refund here.  After all, if she gets commission on the purchase, she definitely doesn’t it.)

Even after my shopping, there was still a bit of time to spare.  We took the opportunity to walk around downtown Calgary before heading to the airport to catch our flight home.

IMG_3958 IMG_3959 IMG_3973 IMG_3975 IMG_3976 IMG_3981

bye bye Calgary!

bye bye Calgary!

IMG_4003 IMG_4007

Home sweet home... almost!

Home sweet home… almost!

And so ends a weekend of fun in Calgary and Banff!

