Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday was the first day back at the office after my nice little break.  It was still busy but at least I had some time to rest and relax before hitting the office again.  I was hoping to leave on time but, of course, things don’t always happen the way you want them to.  In fact, I had no choice but to stay late because certain tasks needed to be completed before the end of the day.

Events beyond our immediate control tend to affect our best intentions and scheduled events… just like my staycation plans.  Weeks ago, my high school friends and I chatted about meeting for lunch on my day-off Monday.  I also made plans to meet S (in New Westminster) for lunch on Thursday.  As fate would have it, the school strike ended and my friends with kids were now busy sorting out back-to-school.  Both sets of lunch plans were postponed.  As I was also arranging lunch plans with L and J, postponing lunch with my high school friends meant L and J had more days to choose from.  We chose Monday for dim sum at Dai Tung Chinese Seafood Restaurant on Kingsway.

Monday morning, bright and early, we trekked over to Dai Tung.  Although the restaurant was only half full when we arrived, it didn’t take long for the place to fill up.  Various tables came and left and we were still chatting.

We picked some “must have” and some common dim sum items:

Steamed prawn with pea leaves dumplings

Steamed prawn with pea leaves dumplings

Golden corn dumplings with prawn and cilantro

Golden corn dumplings with prawn and cilantro

Steamed beef meatballs

Steamed beef meatballs

Dai Tung chicken on rice

House specialty salted chicken on rice

Deep fried squid tentacles with chili and salt

Deep fried squid tentacles with chili and salt

Boneless spicy duck webs with jelly fish

Boneless spicy duck webs with jelly fish

Pan fried daikon cake with XO chili sauce

Pan fried daikon cake with XO chili sauce

The dumplings were still piping hot when they arrived at the table.  So good!  This was the first time I’ve had duck webs at lunchtime.  I enjoyed the jellyfish and pickled veggies that accompanied the duck webs.  The House Specialty Salted Chicken on Rice is a $1.49 special offered to guests whose bill totals over $10 on weekdays during the lunch hour.  Two to three items easily puts the diner’s balance over $10.  A pretty good deal for $1.49!

I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere in the restaurant.  Unfortunately, L, J and I missed the early bird discount but even at regular price, the food and the charge were reasonable.  In fact, it was such a good experience that I returned a few days later with my parents.  We ordered some of the same dishes but also added a few items.

Pan fried prawn patties with chives; Egg tarts; Deep fried taro paste with pork

Pan fried prawn patties with chives; Egg tarts; Deep fried taro paste with pork

Rice flour rolls with beef

Rice flour rolls with beef

Steamed beef meatballs

Steamed beef meatballs

Dai Tung chicken on rice

House specialty salted chicken on rice

Steamed sticky rice wrap with assorted meat

Steamed sticky rice wrap with assorted meat

Steamed BBQ Pork Buns

Steamed BBQ Pork Buns

Bean curd wraps with meat and vegetable

Bean curd wraps with meat and vegetable

Golden corn dumplings with prawn and cilantro

Golden corn dumplings with prawn and cilantro

The food was good and my parents enjoyed it as well.  As always, we ordered too much food.  But that was okay since we packed the remainder to go and snacked on it later in the evening. I noticed that the beef in the beef balls was the same as that in the rice rolls. I usually don’t eat the deep-fried taro paste with minced pork but decided to try one here.  It was really good.  I liked the fluffiness of the deep-fried exterior.  I’ve been to many dim sum places where the deep-fried taro paste tasted bland, no fluffy/flaky exterior and the item was overdone.  (or maybe some were heated by microwave oven…?)

We ate what we could, packed the remainder and asked for the bill.  As it turns out, Dai Tung offers 20% off discount for bills at that are paid by 11:30 am on weekday (non-holiday).  Nice!  We just saved $8 on our bill.  That’s the equivalent of almost two dim sum items.

Yes, we’ll be back…

Dai Tung Chinese Seafood Restaurant 大同海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

