Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve had dinner with Vikki.  We keep talking about meeting up and every so often, we are prompted by something to put our words into action.  Earlier in the year, we met up for dinner a few times after I blogged about our eating adventures.  I know she is currently on vacation now.  Maybe when she is back in town, we’ll pick another place for some good eats …?

After blogging about YEW and Xi Shi Lounge, Vikki and I started planning our next eat-out.  At first, our discussions were mainly around confirming an available date rather than an agreeable location.  As the date drew near, I happened to come across a link that a friend posted to her wall.  It was an article about underrated restaurants in Vancouver.  There were about a dozen places on the list that I have tried.  I was keen on trying something new and four of them caught my attention.

I forwarded the link to Vikki to see if any of those locations caught her eye. She asked me if there were any that jumped out, to which I mentioned the four locations.  Vikki responded that she was also interested in going to two restaurants from my narrowed-down list:  The Oakwood Canadian Bistro and Farmer’s Apprentice.  We decided to try The Oakwood Canadian Bistro first.

We arrived for our reservation before 6 pm.  It was still early for other patrons so we were able to have our pick of the tables.

IMG_3374 IMG_3346 IMG_3349 IMG_3350

As the menu suggests, all dishes are intended for sharing.  That fit perfectly well into our plan of trying as many things as we could.  We selected the items we wanted to try and listed them off to our server.  We also ordered drinks.

Vikki went for “The Garden.”  According to the drink menu, it’s a “blend of wood and peated scotch, sage simple syrup, citrus, chartreuse mist.”  A very pretty drink, indeed!  I decided to be a bit more adventurous and out of my usual comfort zone.

The Garden

The Garden

I ordered the “Smokin’ Barrel” which was the first on the list.  Yup, just a very random choice.  The drink menu indicates my drink consisted of “smoked bacardi black rum, fresh lime, ginger beer, walnut bitters.”  Okay, so maybe it wasn’t entirely random.  I saw the word “lime” in there and decided it must be okay if there is lime in there.  My drink was a bit more interactive than what I expected. It reminded me of a chemistry experiment with all the pouring of one fluid and then the next.

Smokin' Barrel

Smokin’ Barrel

all mixed in...

all mixed in…

It didn’t take long for the food to arrive.  In fact, one of the dishes came out before the drinks did.

bison carpaccio

bison carpaccio

flying porks

flying porks

warm kale salad

warm kale salad

rabbit ravioli

rabbit ravioli

poutine

poutine

Out of these five items, I enjoyed the bison carpaccio, the warm kale salad and the poutine (with maple brisket).  The bison carpaccio was delicious and the warm kale salad had me constantly refilling my plate.  The poutine was fantastic and I enjoyed the blend of brisket, gravy and curds.  Yummy…

As for the other two items, I found the flavour of the flying porks was not very interesting and the item as a whole quite expensive for what you actually get.  Presentation was unique in that the meatballs were presented on skewer sticks attached to a block of wood.  But when you really look at it, basically it is five meatballs on sticks for $7.  The rabbit ravioli was different but the meat seemed a bit dry — or maybe it was the thick pasta-like encasing around the meat.

Although we were full from dinner, everyone knows that there is a separate stomach for dessert.  😉  Vikki and I were determined to try the different sweet treats.  The menu offered three desserts: (1) “creme caramel, cranberry gel, pecan shortbread,” (2) “peanut butter and chocolate mousse, chocolate pistachio feuilletine,” and (3) “goats cheesecake, blueberry compote, ginger crumb.”  Rather than try to pick out one dessert each, we opted for the Dessert Trio, which allowed us to share all three desserts.

creme caramel, goats cheesecake, peanut butter and chocolate mousse

creme caramel, goats cheesecake, peanut butter and chocolate mousse

I am not a big fan of goat’s cheese so my preference was to the other two desserts.  As you can see, it didn’t take long for us to finish the ones we liked….

all done....!

all done….!

IMG_3372

And so ended our first great eating adventure of this year…!

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro on Urbanspoon

