Tags

, , , , , ,

Dine Out Vancouver is one way to try restaurants that are not front and centre of my attention.  It’s also a great excuse to meet up with friends and go for a 3-course meal.  The first year that I paid attention to Dine Out Vancouver, I went to seven restaurants in the 2 week period.  That was a little excessive and a bit expensive.  For weeks after, I didn’t feel like eating out.  Since then, I’ve been careful not get too reservation-happy.

The week after dinner at the Riverway Clubhouse in Burnaby, I went for another Dine Out adventure.  My friends and I were meeting up after work so we picked something close to downtown.  We decided to go to Hamilton Street Grill in Yaletown.

IMG_2412

I was the earliest to arrive and used the extra few minutes to read over the menu.  When it was time to order, I decided to be adventurous and try the elk carpaccio as my starter.  I ordered the duck breast over duck confit risotto as my main course.  My friends ordered the terraine maison for their starters and the striploin as their mains.  For dessert, we ordered a different dessert each.

warm bread...

warm bread…

Terraine Maison with cornichon, grainy Dijon and costini

Terraine Maison with cornichon, grainy Dijon and costini

Mixed Peppercorn Crusted Elk Cappaccio

Mixed Peppercorn Crusted Elk Cappaccio

Certified Angus Beef Striploin with agrodolce sauce and garlic mashed potatoes

Certified Angus Beef Striploin with agrodolce sauce and garlic mashed potatoes

Seared duck breast with black plum jus over duck confit risotto

Seared duck breast with black plum jus over duck confit risotto

Belgian Chocolate Mousse

Belgian Chocolate Mousse

Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee

Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee

Green Tea accented Panna Cotta with strawberry coulis

Green Tea accented Panna Cotta with strawberry coulis

Although we were sitting by the window, the lighting in the restaurant was quite dim.  Unfortunately my camera and my camera skills in such instances are not good.  Even with the added candlelight, the photos are a bit blurry.

In terms of the food, the taste was good.  The elk carpaccio reminded me of beef tataki.  I remember trying a small piece of elk a long time ago but my recollection is that the elk was fully cooked.  Eating raw elk meat was definitely stepping out of my comfort zone.  However, that made for a great first step to prepare me for something else that I tried a month later (in Luxembourg… still to be blogged about).  The duck breast was quite tender and tasty.  I did find the sauce a bit salty even with the risotto.  (Or maybe I’m used to a lower sodium diet now…?)  The dessert itself was okay.  Nothing out of the ordinary.

Hamilton Street Grill on Urbanspoon

 

