Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you’ve read my other posts, you may have noticed there is usually some lag time between the meal and the blog entry.  My random blogging schedule is the main reason for this delay.  After my BCIT course, I tried to keep my food entries in chronological order.  I was hoping to stay somewhat organized by following the timeline with my saved photos.  My strategy worked well until I went on my Australia trip and ate blog-worthy meals three times a day.  Sometimes we had four meals a day if there was a separate dessert run.  My weekly blog posts for daily eating put me behind by months.

My last post about CAVU skipped the cue because I was thoroughly impressed by the service as they helped us arrange Cris’ farewell lunch.  Of course, as I was blogging about one hotel restaurant, I thought about Mosaic Grille & Bar.  I have dined there multiple times last year but haven’t blogged about it yet.

Last spring, I met up with a couple of friends (colleagues) for dinner.  We were working in different offices and wanted to have a leisurely dinner and some relaxing conversation.  I was tasked with looking for a place to go.  (How does that often become my task…?)  There were a few important criteria.  First, we wanted to have some quiet conversation and a relaxing dinner without having to shout at each other just to be heard.   We all worked downtown and so the other factor to consider was something close to the office (for lazy people like me who don’t like to walk).  I also wanted to find a place that had comfortable seating and not some place where you feel like the random stranger at the neighbouring table is part of your dining party.   Finally, I always look for coupons in my coupon book.  Considering all these factors, I suggested Mosaic at the Hyatt Regency and the other two agreed.

We arrived for an early reservation and were seated by the window.  It was a beautiful day and the downtown buildings backed by blue skies created a beautiful view.

IMG_1223

IMG_1226

Our server was very attentive and she gave us some time to study the menu before coming back to answer any questions we might have.  She also explained the difference between the “Perfectly Portioned” and the “Create Your Own” sections of the menu.

IMG_1222

We started off by sharing the Seared Ocean Wise Baja Scallops and the Minute Smoke Skuna Bay Salmon.  Such pretty presentations!  (Almost too pretty to eat)

IMG_1227 IMG_1228

Our entrees….

IMG_1229 IMG_1230 IMG_1231

This last photo was my item.  If I remember correctly (and it has been over a year now…), I ordered the ling cod with snow peas, artichoke, truffle pomme puree and a broth on top.  My friends created their own ling cod and salmon entrees.  The ling cod tasted good but a bit on the salty side.  I wasn’t sure if it was the fish seasoned with too much salt or if it came from one of the toppings or the broth.  I found myself drinking much more water than I normally would in a restaurant.

Because we started our meal early, we also finished our meal quite early.   The restaurant was fairly quiet that evening so we ordered some tea and dessert before continuing with our conversations.

IMG_1234

IMG_1235 IMG_1236

IMG_1237

As it turns out, the friend that ordered the salmon entrée ordered the Italian Cheesecake.  The friend that also ordered the ling cod shares similar taste to me.  We each ordered a Banana Split.  I must admit that I wasn’t expecting the size of the dessert.  Had I known how big it would be, I would have shared one with my friend.   Having said that though, over the course of the next hour or so, I finished the entire banana split.  Yup.. I did.   I really enjoyed the banana split and think I might venture back there again sometime just to stop in for dessert.

A couple of weeks later, my big sis and her family were visiting.   We were celebrating my mom’s birthday while they were in town.  We wanted to go for a nice sit-down dinner and I suggested going to Mosaic.  Secretly, I wanted to order the banana split again…

Our family visit to Mosaic was on a fine June evening.  Again, the backdrop of blue skies from our table gave the restaurant a nice view for the guests to enjoy.  As we were being seated, they asked me if there was a special occasion to which I mentioned that we were there to celebrate my mom’s birthday.

IMG_1321

IMG_1320 IMG_1323

IMG_1326 IMG_1327

Again, another early seating for us meant hardly anyone in the restaurant yet.  That was perfect for us as my niece couldn’t sit still for so long and wanted to wander around our table.  She did take her colouring quite seriously though.  The little buns were warm and delicious.  We also ordered a some drinks and juice.

When it came time to order, I waffled a bit but decided to order the ling cod again.  I wanted to see if my taste buds were out to lunch the last time I was there.  Lo and behold, the ling cod tasted even saltier than my previous visit.  Hmm… not good.  My sister ordered the Australian lamb which looked yummy and my niece ordered the spaghetti and meatballs.

IMG_1333 IMG_1334 IMG_1335 IMG_1336 IMG_1339

I was disappointed that the ling cod was a bit too salty for my taste.  Now that I know, I can be adventurous and try other items on the menu.  There was a mess up with our meal and the server forgot to put in my dad’s order.  My dad sat there as all our meals were served but nothing for him.  I finally had to chase the server down to figure out what happened to my dad’s order.  I was not impressed.  In fact, I didn’t say anything but it was written all over my face that I was not impressed.  The server, after realizing that she had missed my dad’s order, came back with a complimentary salad and a rush order on his meal.  That probably was the best she could do given that the entrée needed to be cooked.  Unfortunately my dad has never been a salad person… yup, the wrong person to drop on order for.

After our entrees, I was pondering if I wanted to order the banana split but we were all pleasantly surprised when the restaurant presented my mom with a birthday cake.  At first my big sis thought I had arranged it, but aside from the telling the restaurant (as we were being seated) that it was a birthday dinner for my mom, I had not made any other mention.

IMG_1343

In most other restaurants, the birthday boy or girl will usually receive a small slice of cake.  We began to wonder if we were going to get charged for it or if it was to make up for the missed entreeearlier in the evening.  (Side note – After our visit to Mosaic, I looked up some reviews online and it sounds like they do that for special occasions so nothing to do with disjointed food service.)

We each had a slice of this awesome chocolate cake.  Even though I’m not a big fan of chocolate cake, I was impressed by the rich but creamy chocolate cake.  Yummy… The banana split was temporarily forgotten.  Especially since the we still had half a cake left after everyone had tried a piece.  Mosaic packed the rest of it for us to take home and it lasted for another day of sweet tooth.

As summer came and went and we were slowly making our way into the autumn seasons, I met up with an old university friend for dinner.    When she looked to me for suggestions, I brought up Mosaic.  Guess where we went for dinner that night…?

IMG_1838 IMG_1839 IMG_1840 IMG_1841

I was done with salty ling cod but remember eyeing my big sis’ plate of Australian lamb at our last visit.  It looked delicious which she also confirmed that it tasted delicious.  I ordered mine with salad.  My friend decided to order the Australian lamb as well but with cooked vegetables.  Our meals were fantastic.  We wrapped up our meal with dessert, sharing the Tahitian Vanilla Creme Brulee and the Italian Cheesecake.

IMG_1842 IMG_1843

Yum yum… Dessert was good but my favourite part of this meal was the Australian lamb.

I was back at Mosaic again in December for a Christmas dinner with friends but the surroundings was too dark for pictures.  I can’t remember what entree I ordered but I did end off the evening with a slice of chocolate cake for dessert …

IMG_2253

 

Mosaic Grille & Bar on Urbanspoon

