Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been about two months since I started working at the Richmond office.  I have been busy settling in, learning the processes, understanding and assisting my temporary team.

A few weeks ago, I attended a (work) course downtown.  My friend (my weekly lunch buddy while working downtown) was on the course as well.  Although we haven’t been able to continue our weekly lunches while I’m in Richmond, we took this opportunity to catch up on life and on missed meals.

We arrived early and decided to have a proper sit-down breakfast.  Not wanting to stray too far from our course venue, we walked over to Scoozis Mediterranean Bar & Grill on Howe Street.  We were lucky enough (and probably early enough) to claim the booth seat by the window.

IMG_3701

IMG_3699

After studying the menu, I ordered a Scoozis Big Breakfast.  It took awhile before our food was served.  I wasn’t sure what to expect but must admit I was a little disappointed when my breakfast arrived.  The camera was zoomed up close to the meal so what you see there is exactly want I got.  I understand that eating downtown means paying more for location than for food but the “big” breakfast seemed a bit on the light side.  The meal tasted okay.  Perhaps I just picked the wrong item to order.

When we were ready to leave, it took a long time to get our bill.  I was finally able to get someone’s attention to ask for the bill.  We waited, checked our watches, waited some more and then asked again.  It actually took us three times of asking to finally get our bill.  It’s a good thing that the course was only down the block or we would be late.

Scoozi's Medit on Urbanspoon

At lunch time, I had some errands to run before grabbing a bite.  My friend agreed to run errands with me and as we walked up to the Robson Street, we discussed our options for lunch.  My last errand took us to the Robson and Seymour area. I remembered there was a “new” burger place called Five Guys Burgers and Fries that I did not have the chance to try before leaving for the Richmond office.

It was really busy inside with people everywhere.  The line-up seemed reasonable and there were tables available for seating.  We looked over the menu board while waiting in the line-up.  I decided to order the Little Bacon Cheeseburger and fries.  The cashier provided me with a number and explained that there was a separate area in the back where they call my number when the order is ready.

I took a quick look at the order pick-up area and saw lots of people waiting.  Since my friend and I were planning on eating there, we sat down at a table and waited for our numbers to be called.  Here’s what my burger looked like…

IMG_20140620_122235

Unfortunately the burger was already squished even though I unwrapped the foil as gently as I could.  Trying to take a decent photo of the burger was a challenge and after a few attempts, this was the best photo.  The burger tasted … just like a bacon cheeseburger.  Nothing more and nothing less.  By the time I had eaten half my burger, I noticed the bun was soggy.  Let’s just say eating the burger got messy quite quickly.  I ended up putting aside the soggy bun and just eating the filling.  The fries, while hot, were good but quite greasy.  Perhaps it was the grease that made the fries tasty…

Five Guys Burgers & Fries on Urbanspoon

