Tags

, , , , ,

I was flipping through my drafts folder and came across a blog post that I started a long time ago but didn’t finish writing.  Guess I’ll take a few minutes now to complete the write-up and post it.

Not too far from the downtown office is a place called Hubbub Sandwiches on Hornby Street.  After walking by the shop many times, I finally decided to give it a try.  There was some seating inside but I opted to do take-out.  There were a couple of people ahead of me in the line up so I took the time to read the menu.  By the time I reached the cashier, I was still uncertain of what to order.  I asked what the most popular item was and they told me the pulled pork sandwich.

IMG_8056 IMG_8055

IMG_8058

instructions

instructions

Overall, I enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich and the fresh ingredients that composed the sandwich.  On a personal preference, much as I love baguette, the crust of the bread was a bit too hard for me.  I must admit that the possibility of chipping my teeth crossed my mind.  Luckily that didn’t happen although one of the toasted bumps on the bread did scrap the roof of my mouth.  That was 2012.

IMG_8061

sandwich

sandwich

Since then, I’ve been back many, many times over the last year and a half.  I’ve tried a few of the other “protein” items on the menu but as a salad bowl rather than a sandwich.  Prawn salad seems to be my preferred choice.  I’ve tried eating in with coworkers but find that I prefer ordering my salad to go.  Often I will just hop over to order a prawn salad when my day calls for a quick and simple take-out lunch.

I’ve tried the clean slaw, potato chips, quinoa salad and sometimes order the soup of the day.  I like the clean slaw and the quinoa salad.  One time I was craving the quinoa salad and wanted a soup to go with it.  It happened to be a quinoa soup.  The person taking my order couldn’t resist asking, “You must really like quinoa.”  Yup.. I do.  The potato chips are okay but not something I would order again. The only side item that I haven’t tried is the chocolate chip cookie.

take-out order of clean slaw

take-out order of clean slaw

Take-out of Prawn Salad

Take-out of Prawn Salad

Prawn Salad with side order of Potato Chips

Prawn Salad with side order of Potato Chips

side order of potato chips with the prawn salad

side order of potato chips with the prawn salad

The last time I was there was probably a few months ago (before project work took me to New Westminster).  Instead of ordering the prawn salad, I decided to change it up a bit and order the chicken breast salad.  It was delicious!  Hmm.. next time I am downtown and heading over to Hubbub, I’m going to have difficulty deciding what to order….!

Chicken Breast Salad - top view

Chicken Breast Salad – top view

side view

side view

Hubbub Sandwiches on Urbanspoon

