Tags

, , , ,

After our eating adventure at Deer Garden, M, C and I decided to get together every few months to go for dinner.  We invited Barb to join our venture and met up for various meals throughout the year.

At discussion over some Shanghainese dumplings, we decided to try something a bit different.  M was telling us about delicious soup and suggested going for Chiu Chow food.  I searched my memory for past dining experiences at Chiu Chow restaurants and could only recall one visit.  I was meeting up with friends in Hong Kong and they took me out to try Chiu Chow cuisine.  That was almost 10 years ago so I was keen on trying out Chiu Chow food in Vancouver.

During one of the cold spells at the end of last year, Barb, M, C and I met up for dinner at Top Chiu Chow Cuisine in Richmond.  Although we had a running rule that the last to arrive was the delegated with the task of ordering the food, we made an exception for this restaurant visit.  M was the only one who had tried Chiu Chow food recently and we decided to forgo the rule this time.  We delegated M with the important role of ordering food.  After all we wanted to make sure that we ordered dishes that was representative of Chiu Chow food.

IMG_2102 IMG_2104

While M was reading through the menu, the restaurant served us with some tea.  We were told it was to clean our palette before the meal.  The dark colour was representative of the strong tea with the slight bitter aftertaste.  Very cute (but bitter).

M seems to have a knack for picking the tasty soups.  The soups that she orders are always tasty and flavourful.  This time was no different.  As for the rest of the meal, I am not sure what was ordered but the food tasted reasonable.  The only thing that stood out was everything else seemed a bit on the salty for my taste.  I’m not sure if it was because of MSG or the sauces/pastes used in the dishes.

IMG_2106 IMG_2105 IMG_2107 IMG_2109

Now that I think about it, we are overdue for another food adventure.  I should drop M, C and Barb an email to set up another eating adventure….
Top Chiu Chow Cuisine 潮州世家海鮮菜館 on Urbanspoon

