Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Another vacation day Friday for me with blue skies and hot sunshine … a beautiful long, long weekend in Vancouver!  Another perfect day to sit by the window and blog.   I bought some yarn last weekend but it’s too hot to start a new knitting project.

Knitting…?  I’ve had various knitting projects on the go since last summer.  It was some time last year that my coworker talked me into taking a sock knitting class with her at Three Bags Full.  I have to admit it didn’t take too much prompting but just a simple suggestion and question.  My friend, Felicia gave me a skein of gorgeous sock yarn for Christmas a few years ago that was just calling out to be used.  That yarn had been sitting in a bag waiting for me to learn how to knit (socks).  This was the perfect opportunity.

Our four classes ran from June to July (2013) with two weeks between each class to complete our “homework.”  I had to get double point knitting needles for the class.  The size of those knitting needles reminded me of barbecue skewers.  Together with my Sweetgeorgia BFL Sock Yarn (in “Summer Skin”) and barbecue skewers, I mean knitting needles, I was kept busy through the summer of 2013 with homework.

Sweetgeorgia BFL Sock Yarn in "Summer Skin"

Sweetgeorgia BFL Sock Yarn in “Summer Skin”

With such fine yarn and barely there knitting needles, it took a long time to complete my homework after each class.  I carried my knitting bag with me everywhere I went and would knit on lunch breaks, at family brunch and while riding as a passenger in the car.  I even brought the knitting with me when we had a weekend getaway in Anmore.

When V and K first moved back to Vancouver, they were staying with family in Anmore.  In case you’re wondering where (or what) Anmore is, according to Wikipedia, it’s a village municipality just north of Port Moody.  V and K invited us over for a “weekend getaway.”  Unfortunately, T was unable to join us so B and I arranged a weekend convenient to our schedule, packed our overnight bags and ventured out to Anmore.

After taking a tour of the beautiful house that we were staying in, we settled into the kitchen and chatted …and chatted… and chatted.  Eventually it was time to prepare dinner.  We were making dumplings for dinner.  We continued to chat while preparing the ingredients and wrapping the dumplings.

ginger

ginger

cilantro and green onions

cilantro and green onions

shrimp

shrimp

chickent

chicken

combining the ingredients to make chicken filling

combining the ingredients to make chicken filling

combining the ingredients to make prawn filling

combining the ingredients to make prawn filling

for our dipping sauce (missing the hot oil....yummy)

for our dipping sauce (just missing the hot oil….)

chicken filling ready to be used

chicken filling ready to be used

prawn filling ready to be used

prawn filling ready to be used

dumping army ready to be cooked

dumping army ready to be cooked

If you’ve read some of my other blog posts, you may recall that I love dumplings.  I especially love eating the homemade dumplings that V makes.  While visiting her in Australia, I played the role of the demanding houseguest and requested V’s homemade dumplings as one of our meals.  We also went to a Shanghai dumpling place in Melbourne and ordered 3 big orders of dumplings as our “afternoon tea” treat.

Look at our delicious dinner spread that we prepared that evening …

pan-fried dumplings

pan-fried dumplings

boiled dumplings

boiled dumplings

...and more boiled dumplings!

…and more boiled dumplings!

Dinner is ready!!

Dinner is ready!!

Delicious as expected!!  We cleared off those dumplings in no time.  After cleaning off the table, we spent the rest of the evening relaxing by the fire.  I learned how to toast marshmallows that evening.  How did that go?  Hmm… let’s just say it’s a good thing that they bought the giant-sized marshmallows or there would have been lots of melted sugar in the fire….

Giant marshmallows (bottom) are the perfect size for a novice like me...

Giant marshmallows (bottom) are the perfect size for a novice like me…

IMG_1492

Full from dumplings and sweet-tooth satisfied by melted marshmallows, we eventually called it a night and went back to our respective rooms.  It was quiet at night and I slept really well.  The next morning, I woke up well-rested and without an alarm clock. It may have only been a regular 2-day weekend but I felt like I was on vacation.

Each guest room had its washroom.  This was great as I didn’t have to worry about someone else waiting to use the washroom.  I woke up early and did not want to disturb the rest of the household, so after washing up and readying myself for the day, I waited in my room until there was other movement in the house.  What did I do while I was waiting?  Well… I took out my homework and continued knit a few more rounds.

When the rest of the household was up, B, V and I went downstairs to prepare breakfast.  B brought out her waffle maker and waffle mix.

our spread of waffle ingredients

our spread of waffle ingredients

blueberry sauce

blueberry sauce

waffles in the making

waffles in the making

waffles

waffles

fresh fruit

fresh fruit

fresh fruit smoothies

fresh fruit smoothies

breakfast is ready!

breakfast is ready!

Breakfast was another successful collective effort!  One of the things I really like about eating breakfast with V and K is that there is always fresh fruit on the table.  K also serves yummy breakfast fruit smoothies.  What a fantastic weekend of eating and relaxing!!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering about those socks that I mentioned earlier…. After breakfast and before leaving Anmore, we lounged in the living room for a bit.  Of course, my knitting bag came out and I continued to do my homework.  Here’s what I managed to accomplish by the end of our trip:

IMG_1505 IMG_1508

It took many, many more weeks of knitting, but I eventually finished my socks weeks after completing the course.  My first pair of hand-knit socks!!  Yay me!!

IMG_1802

