Tags

, , , , , , ,

When they talk about testing motivation and commitment… today will be one of those days.  At least for me, it will be.  Running during my lunch hour at work has already been a big step out of my comfort zone and running three times in a week has been almost phenomenal for me… Yes, yes, I know lots of people run 4-5 times a week… in all weather conditions.  But remember, this is ME we’re talking about now.  I’ve mentioned that I am usually a fair-weather weekend morning runner.  It’s training day again with N… and the weather forecast has indicated rain for today.   The amount of rain in a 24-hour period was forecast to be 25-35 mm.  Oh. dear.

Weather forecast as seen on Sunday.   (Source: http://www.theweathernetwork.com/weather/canada/british-columbia/vancouver)

Weather forecast as seen on Sunday.
(Source: http://www.theweathernetwork.com/)

Just to confirm that the weather forecast was still looking nasty … I checked again this morning…

Today... sigh...  (Source: www.theweathernetwork.com)

Today… sigh…
(Source: http://www.theweathernetwork.com)

Let’s see how long I last while running in the rain.. and hoping that I don’t get sick…

So what food photos should I share today…?

In case you have been wondering… no, not all my eating out experiences are fantastic, tasty and amazing.  I’m not always a potential returning customer. There are times that I try a place and see no need to go back.  It could be because I don’t like the food, the atmosphere, the service and/or the price is not worth another visit.  If I’m spending my time and my money to be there, I want to enjoy my dining experience.

As part of our eating around Gastown adventures last year, we went for ramen at the No. 1 Noodle House.  The interior was quite spacious and the lighting was pretty good.  B and I arrived there early so I had lots of time to take pictures (with hardly any other people around) and look at the menu. It was a pretty compact menu with a few options for ramen, a couple of salads, a couple of deep-fried items and drinks.

IMG_1403 IMG_1404

menu

menu

We ordered a salad to share, each having a sample bite or two.  We also each ordered a ramen.  I opted for their basic ramen… after all, if it’s their signature ramen, it should be good.

IMG_1405 IMG_1406

The salad was good and the ramen was quite average.  The bowl of ramen itself was ok but for the price paid, the portion size served and the location of the noodle house, it’s not somewhere I’d be keen on revisiting.  Considering the fact that I can get a bigger bowl of tasty ramen within two blocks of my office at a less expensive price… y-e-a-h… no, it didn’t even register on my “maybe” list.

And of course… as I’m looking up web links to this restaurant, I realize that they are now closed… at least that’s what their Facebook page says.   The good thing about that is I don’t have to worry about any other friends suggesting it as place to meet up and have ramen.

No. 1 Noodle House on Urbanspoon

