Tags

, , , , , , ,

On Thursday, I promised N I will run three times a week – twice on weekdays (with her) and once on weekends (on my own).  This is only Week One, so of course, I have to follow through. Oh wait… does today count as the last day of Week One or the first day of Week Two…?  Hmmm….

The last time I visited the track was in November.  Four months ago!!  At that time, I worked my way to running six continuous laps in just under 18 minutes.  Relative to the other runners on the track, my pace was not fast, but it was my fastest “comfortable” pace.

By the time I made my way to the track this morning, it was already mid-morning.  I didn’t have a specific “running” goal in mind although I had narrowed it down to either 10 laps (4 kilometres) or 30 minutes… whichever came first.  Our weekday lunch hour runs had been on the streets with inclines and slopes so I consider today as my flat surface training.

I started out by running six continuous laps which I completed within 18 minutes.  Although I stopped running after the sixth lap, I was determined to meet at least one of my two goals (4 km or 30 minutes),  I continued around the track but at a walking pace for half a lap, ran another lap, walked a quarter of a lap, ran another lap, walked a quarter of lap and finished off by running the final lap.  By my count, I completed a total 10 laps around the track.  I pulled out my timer… lo and behold, it was 29 minutes and 58 seconds.  Wow.  Not only was I surprised that I had actually completed 10 laps (run/walk) but I had done so within 30 minutes.  I was also surprised that I had managed to run another lap after each short walk.  For me, it has always been difficult to start running again after stopping for a walk.  Needless to say, I felt wonderful after my run this morning.  Not only had I met both my goals but I felt refreshed and energized. I washed up and then went into the office to work on a report.

Not for the sake of comparison but rather out of curiosity, I just scrolled through my online updates to last May when I ran 10 laps non-stop.  At that time, it took me 31 minutes.   Maybe by this May I can do the same.  As I scrolled through the month of May, I realized there are so many more exciting food photos to share.  For today’s blog post, I will share photos from another afternoon tea experience.

It was a sunny weekend in May and just like today, I felt refreshed and energized after my morning run at the track.  After washing up from my run,  I met up with Patricia, her mom and another lady for afternoon tea at the Adonia Tea House in Kerrisdale.

Adonia’s interior was warm and cozy and really did give it a tea house feel.  It would be difficult not to have a tea house feel when the walls are decorated with tea canisters, cups and tea-related decorations.

IMG_1011 IMG_1014

Interior of Adonia Tea House

Interior of Adonia Tea House

While Patricia’s mom and the other lady ordered the Mini Afternoon Tea, Patricia and I were famished so we each ordered the regular Afternoon Tea.  Patricia and I shared a big pot of tea.  I let Patricia pick the tea so I did not take much notice to what tea was selected.  (Details, details, yes I know.. next time I will get pen and paper and write it down!)

floral tea cups

floral tea cups

our pot of tea

our pot of tea

Thankfully it didn’t take long for our food to arrive.  I was famished after my morning run and only snapped a few quick pictures before digging into the food.

three tier curate stand

three tier curate stand

scones

scones

top tier - sweets

top tier – sweets

middle tier

middle tier

bottom tier

bottom tier

I really enjoyed the food at Adonia.  The food was fresh and tasty.  I loved the scone and the various other savoury items.  Unlike my post on Tea Time at The Urban Tea Merchant, I didn’t take photos of every single finger sandwich and pastry item.  The photos of each tier captured the presentation of the various items.  I did, however, made an exception and took a photo of this little guy.  What a cutie … sandwich.  🙂

I loved the look and taste of this little cutie...

I loved the look and taste of this little cutie…

Speaking about my Urban Tea Merchant post, I would have suggested coming out here for afternoon tea with J and J’s daughter but the thought of all the breakable items in such close proximity might be a bit risky even with a well-behaved 1-year-old.

Would I go back again?  Absolutely!  In fact, as I write this post, I’m thinking of making a reservation and taking my mom there for afternoon tea.

 
Adonia Tea House on Urbanspoon

