Tags

, , , , , ,

The first day of Spring and what a gorgeous day!!!  The sun was shining, a light breeze was blowing and… I went for another lunch hour run.  On Tuesday, we ran about 3 kilometres in just over half an hour.  Today, N pushed me to run further in the same amount of time.  While I lagged behind her for most of the route (even though she stopped to wait for me), we completed a round-trip of approximately 4 kilometres.

I noticed that my running-related cramps didn’t start until we were only a few blocks away from the office. What a big contrast from Tuesday’s training when the stitches were painfully irritating after 2 kilometres.  To keep my mind off the cramps and focus my energy elsewhere, I started to think of my next blog post (this post).  I remembered some food photos I had skipped over while searching for the spa cafe pictures in my previous post.

Last April, I met up with a good friend for lunch.  As a midpoint between his office and mine, he suggested CinCin Ristorante + Bar.  I have often walked by CinCin when I run weekday errands that extend beyond my two-block lunch radius. I must admit that I had not thought about dining at CinCin while on a one hour lunch break.

It had been well over a year since my friend and I had set aside time to chat.  Though the lunch hour was really short, we managed to do fill it with lots of catching up.  But of course, we paused long enough between our many updates to order our pasta.

IMG_0893

Rigatoni Bolognese

Rigatoni Bolognese

Gnocchi

Gnocchi

After a delicious lunch of hand made (according to their website “hand made in house daily”) pasta, my friend insisted that we order dessert.  He recommended this dessert item.

Pistachio Semifreddo

Pistachio Semifreddo

As it has been almost a year… I don’t recall the name of the dessert.  I looked at the online menu but it’s likely that the desserts have changed over the past year.  Thanks to web surfing and Vancity Buzz, the best I could come up with is pistachio semifreddo.  Justin, the author of the blog post “Easter dinner in Vancouver: CinCin – an Italian affair,” describes the dessert in yummy detail.  The dessert was very tasty… What a fabulous way to draw an end to a lunch filled with house made pasta, fantastic conversation and sincere friendship!

 
CinCin Ristorante + Bar on Urbanspoon

