Tags

, , , , , ,

Vikki is one of those people with her fingers on the pulse of what’s happening around town.  While having dinner at YEW, I asked Vikki about the tourism challenge that she was participating in.  I cannot remember the detailed explanation but only remember that she mentioned eating good food and collecting stamps in a passport.  It didn’t take long for us to decide another dinner was in order.

A month later, Vikki and I met up again after work.  This time, we went made a reservation for Xi Shi Lounge at the Shangri-La Hotel.  For the 2013 Tourism Challenge, Xi Shi Lounge offered 50% off food and non-alcoholic beverages for the participant and one friend. Half price for appies and drinks at the lounge of a 5-star hotel…?  Sure!

IMG_1204 IMG_1205 IMG_1202

Lotus Blossom - fresh raspberry, elderflower, ginger, lime, sparkling water (non-alcoholic)

Lotus Blossom – fresh raspberry, elderflower, ginger, lime, sparkling water (non-alcoholic)

We picked out a few items to share and ordered our non-alcoholic drinks.  Vikki and I started off with the Lotus Blossom drink … refreshing!  It was a great way to end a long day in the office.  Soon after the drinks were served, our food followed.

Oysters on the half Shell, Mignonette, Cocktail Sauce

Oysters on the half Shell,
Mignonette, Cocktail Sauce

Steelhead Sashimi, Crispy rice, Chipotle Emulsion

Steelhead Sashimi,
Crispy rice, Chipotle Emulsion

Rice Cracker Crusted Tuna,  Citrus - Sriracha Emulsion

Rice Cracker Crusted Tuna,
Citrus – Sriracha Emulsion

Smoked Salmon P late,  Cream Cheese, Capers, Shallot, Watercress Salad

Smoked Salmon Plate,
Cream Cheese, Capers,
Shallot, Watercress Salad

Shallots, Cream Cheese, Capers for the Smoked Salmon Plate

Shallots, Cream Cheese, Capers for the Smoked Salmon Plate

IMG_1213

I’m not a big fan of raw fish.  It’s a personal preference as the issue is with texture and not so much the taste.  When it comes to raw salmon or tuna, I will pick salmon over tuna.  With that little tidbit about me, it should come as no surprise that I enjoyed the smoked salmon plate more than the salmon sashimi and the rice cracker crusted tuna.  When Vikki gave me the option of which item I wanted to finish off, it was also without hesitation that I picked the smoked salmon plate.
Xi Shi Lounge on Urbanspoon

After our quick finger food munchies, Vikki and I decided that we weren’t hungry enough to eat a separate dinner.  Instead, we decided that the perfect way to end the evening was to have some dessert.  We left Xi Shi Lounge and headed directly to Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe.

So many desserts to choose from....

So many desserts to choose from….

What a selection of desserts… decisions, decisions.  They also had several flavours of macarons in the neighbouring display case.  My interest was captured by the pretty tarts and cakes.  After much pondering, I picked a Mango Lime Tart.  Is it obvious that I like lime…?

My choice.. Mango Lime Tart

My choice.. Mango Lime Tart

Vikki's choice..

Vikki’s choice..

Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe on Urbanspoon

