Tags

, , ,

Thanks to onlyinthebay for visiting my blog and nominating it for a Liebster Award.  I assume it’s one of those blogging (encouragement?) awards.  Here are the rules:

  1. Each nominee link back to the person who nominated them.
  2. Answer 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
  3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award that has less than 200 followers.
  4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

I’m not sure how one finds blogs with less than 200 followers… is there a stat displayed somewhere?  I appreciate the efforts that onlyinthebay put in to create the questions, so I will take the time to answer them.  As for nominating blogs with less than 200 followers, I really don’t have the time to find 10 blogs with less than 200 followers .  I will skip the Steps 3 to 5.  If they had a rule that said “nominate 10 bloggers that you follow to this award” I would happily do so.

I started writing my responses while flying home from Luxembourg.  it’s not that I didn’t want to sleep my 10 hours on the flight but rather my sleep was continually interrupted.  If it wasn’t for the singing kid in the row ahead (how does she manage to sing for 9 hours of our 10 hour flight??) and the couple constantly getting up to go to the washroom or go for walks, I probably would have had at least 4 hours of sleep on the flight if not more.  But alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  Instead, I watched the movie Frozen, ate all my airplane meals, knitted and answered some questions for this blog award thing.  Unfortunately, when cutting and pasting from my notebook application to the WordPress site, I lost part of my answers and had to retype them.  So, here we go…

1) what got you to start blogging?

My first blog was many, many years ago and was only active for a few months.  A few of my friends as well as my sister were avid bloggers.  It seemed like a neat thing to do at the time.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t motivated enough to keep writing.

2) how long have you been blogging for?

I have been consistently blogging (or somewhat consistently) since 2011.  This is my second attempt at blogging and was a required component of my social media marketing class.  My original plan was to deactivate the blog after the course ended but several weeks of mandatory blogging and a few supportive friends who continue to read my random (food) ramblings has kept me going.

3) what do you have a hard time with in terms of writing?

The most difficult part is getting started.  Once those first few sentences are down, the rest just seem to slip into place.

4) what kind of movies do you like?

Happy endings

5) what is one dish you can not live with out?

I wouldn’t say that I cannot live without a particular dish… but I can say that congee is my comfort food. When I’m sick or my appetite is bad, congee is what I crave.

congee

congee (photo from Girls’ Getaway to Melbourne)

6) is there a specific spot you like to be when you write? if so where?

Not really.  Sometimes I’m sitting in my room, other times I’m on the couch in front of the tv.

7) if there is one place in the world you would like to go to now; where would that be and who would you bring with you?

Being stuck on a 10 hour flight with sick people coughing up many storms around me, the only place I want to be is in the comforts of my home.  Don’t need anyone else to be there because I plan to hibernate when I get home.

8) if you were to go to a deserted island, what three things would you bring with you?

Hmmm… a camera (to take photos of my food), tea tree oil (bug repellant and healing wounds) and a knife.

9) what is the strangest food you have ever tried?

What other people consider strange might not be so strange to me.  I’ve tried different types of things while eating out with friends.  I drew the line at silk cocoons and lively mini scorpions on skewers while visiting friends in Beijing – no, I’m not trying that…  While travelling in Australia, I tried kangaroo meat which tasted very meaty.  Unlike everything else which is supposed to taste like chicken, kangaroo meat tasted like beef.  While in Luxembourg last week, I tried a slice of horse filet.  That too tasted like beef but it didn’t seem as meaty as the kangaroo meat.  Though steak tartare may seem like a regular menu item for some people, it was a new experience for me.  It almost felt like I was eating the raw ground beef from the packaging.  They obviously made it into something fancier, tastier and more suitable for raw consumption… but I couldn’t wipe the image of eating ground beef directly from the styrofoam and shrink-wrap.

10) have you ever been nominated for a liebster award before?

No, this is my first blog award.

