Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am on vacation in Luxembourg and had the most fantastic meal on Friday in a 12th century castle.  After enjoying my meal, I thought about my blog and realized that it’s been about a week since I’ve blogged.  If I don’t want to fall behind by too many months (a year?), then I’d better continue writing.  Eventually, I’ll get to blog about my fantastic castle lunch…  ๐Ÿ™‚

A couple of weeks ago, I was wearing an old, fuzzy (fuzzy because it was pilling from old age…) but comfortable and cute slouchy hat.  Somehow and somewhere, I seem to have lost the hat.  I was quite sad and tried to retrace my steps at the end of the work day in hopes of finding it.  Unfortunately, after checking with the restaurant that I went to for lunch, it’s very unlikely that I will see that pilling slouchy hat.  ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I spent the past few months pondering about whether the hat was too ratty-looking to continue wearing.  Was it time to get a new one and retire the old one?  I loved the fact that my slouchy-hat was simple, slouchy-looking and comfortable.  I really did not want to part with it but losing it pretty much made up that difficult decision for me.

On my way home that evening, I was occupied by thoughts of my lost hat.  At first it started up with a bit of self-beating for losing something that I really like.  Part way through my trip, my mind wandered a bit and I was drawing parallels to my (lost) friendships.  There were friends that were dear to me and seemed like the closest friends I had for years.  We’d share ups and downs, drop other tasks to help one another, talk on the phone for hours or simply hang out.  And now…?  I suppose the best way to summarize it is.. life happens and somehow the friendship connection is lost.  Something that means a lot to me may now mean little or next to nothing to the other person (or people).  Or… I really have too much spare time on my hands to think about all this.

I should focus on those who have been there for me and continue to be there for me.  I am very, very fortunate to be surrounded by fabulous friends and enjoy the time that we spend together.  They are the ones who make me who I am and help me continue to strive to be who I want to be.

While I really want to blog about my fabulous Luxembourg trip (sitting at my friend’s kitchen table in Luxembourg), instead I will share food photos from a fantastic Vancouver restaurant that T, B, V, K and I went to for deep-fried chicken wings.

When we were munching on chicken wings at PiDGiN, T mentioned that we should pick a day and go to Phnom Penh for their delicious deep-fried chicken wings.  Done… we decided our next “eating around” location.

IMG_1184

We picked out a “deep-fried chicken wing” date in May (after my Bellevue trip… which I will eventually blog about) and met up at this restaurant that T kept talking about. The place was packed and we were lucky to get a table.  We looked at the lengthy menu and each picked out one of must have items:

Butter Beef

Butter Beef

steamed rice rolls and vietnamese ham

steamed rice rolls and vietnamese ham

stir-fried lotus stems

lotus stems

IMG_1180

Kai lan

Kai lan

deep fried chicken wings

deep-fried chicken wings

Everything tasted DELICIOUS!  My favourites?  Butter beef, lotus stems and chicken wings.  The Butter Beef seemed to melt in the mouth, the lotus stems had a nice crunch to them and the chicken wings were fantastic!  Yummy!!!  The chicken wings were MUCH tastier and a better deal than those at PiDGiN.

I’m getting hungry just thinking about it…. I should go there again soon….

Phnom Penh ้‡‘้‚Šๅฐ้คจ on Urbanspoon

