Tags

, , , , , , ,

Around the same time last year, I was seated on this couch watching my little niece dream her happy dreams.  Just like this evening, I was typing away on my laptop and stringing together words and photos for another blog post.  The only difference is last year I was still blogging about my Australia trip and this year I’m writing about my local eats around Vancouver.  Well… and the fact that I’ve aged a bit and my niece thinks she’s a BIG girl now.  What a difference one year makes!!!

The period of late January to late February has always been one of my least favourite times.  It’s right after all the hustle, bustle and festive feel of Christmas.  The bright lights of the Christmas season are turned off and displays taken down.  The weather is unpleasant — usually cold, wet and dreary.  Don’t even mention the singles’ syndrome which becomes more and more apparent with each February.  If it weren’t for Chinese New Year (and now my niece’s birthday) during this time period, I would rather hibernate through it all.

Luckily with March just around the corner comes one of my favourite seasons of the year.  Spring you say…? Not quite… I’m referring to King Crab Season!!!  🙂  I love crab.  Crab cakes, crab claws, Dungeness crab, king crab and mud crab – I love them all (and more).

Last March (2013), I went for dinner with a group of king crab craving colleagues. We had been talking for months about getting together and going out for a good meal.  M made the arrangements and pulled together a group of 11 or 12 people for a king crab feast at the Golden Lake Seafood Restaurant on East Hastings Street.

I arrived earlier than our early dinner reservation and found that the restaurant was still closed.  Luckily they have a parking lot immediately in front of the restaurant so waiting for the evening opening time was convenient.  By the time the doors opened for business more than half our group had arrived and we were quickly seated at one of the big tables.

peanuts and pickled carrots on the table

peanuts and pickled carrots on the table

I understand that our king crab was pre-ordered when making the reservation as is often the case during high season.  We told the server how we wanted the different crab parts cooked and picked out a few other dishes to build up our meal.  After the order was placed, our server came back to show us our moving dinner ingredient.  I can’t remember how much it weighed… but he seemed like a big guy…

mr server adjusting our king crab for the multiple cameras at the table

mr server adjusting our king crab for the multiple cameras at the table

Is he trying to run away?

Is he trying to run away?

a little perspective on size

a little perspective on size

IMG_0838

After photos of the crab, he was quickly whisked away to the kitchen for cooking.  Not too long after, he reappeared on our table as several different dishes.  The other items that we ordered were also served to the table.

steamed crab legs

steamed crab legs

deep fried crab knuckles

deep-fried crab knuckles

yum yum...

yum yum…

curry rice baked in the crab shell

curry rice baked in the crab shell
oh yes, some veggies (blurry because the lazy susan was probably spun away as the photo was being taken)

oh yes, some veggies (blurry because the lazy susan was probably spun away as the photo was being taken)

honey garlic pork

honey garlic pork

sweet and sour pork

sweet and sour pork

yee mein  in crab juice (from the steamed crab legs dish)

yee mein in crab juice (from the steamed crab legs dish)

The food was good and we enjoyed lots of great conversation at the table.  It was fun to spend time with colleagues from different offices outside of the work environment.

At the end of the evening, we were served with dessert. It was nice to have something other than the typical red bean soup…

tapioca dessert

tapioca dessert

Hmmm…. Is it king crab season yet…. ??

Golden Lake Seafood Restaurant 湖濱海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

