Tags

, , , , ,

When the WordPress confirmation page came up for my previous post, I was surprised to see that it was my 100th post.  Oh my, I already hit my 100th post!  Or should I be saying… it took that long to get to reach my 100th post??  Either way it was a surprise.  I lean towards the former rather than latter since my blog was supposed to be a temporary site to meet the homework requirements of a course.

As my long weekend (BC Family Day weekend) comes to an end, it seems like a perfect time to write another blog post.  This weekend was, after all, the first real weekend I’ve had in weeks.  Looking back at the last few weekends, I’ve had to go into the office on both Saturdays and Sundays for 6-8 hours each day.  Those days didn’t really count as weekends… only extensions of the weekday with fewer distractions and no interruptions.

Now that I’ve finally had a restful long weekend, I can try to blog a bit before returning to my busy work-life.  Looking at the chronological collection of my photos, the next set of restaurant photos that came up were from another eating around Gastown adventure with B and T.  The bonus to this was V had just moved back to Vancouver and from that point on was able to join us for dinner at PiDGiN.

After our dinner at Lily Mae’s (January 2013), T suggested going to PiDGiN for our next dinner adventure.  Up until that point, the word “pidgin” (not pigeon) only brought to mind the universal chat program installed on my computer.  Nope, PiDGiN is a restaurant in Gastown.  PiDGiN opened its doors at the beginning of February 2013.  In addition to all the hype of a new trendy restaurant, it also had lots of unexpected publicity from having protesters outside the doors… for weeks.. months….

I have never been much of a crowd-person and was a little hesitant about the thought of wading through protesters to get anywhere.  However, T and B were keen on trying PiDGiN so we went.  We went after work on a Monday evening in early March (2013) and surprisingly enough, the streets were calm and quiet.  Not one single protester on the street.  As it was still early in the evening, there were only a couple of other tables seated.  The lighting was dim (dark) in the restaurant so the photos that I took were dark.

Table is set at PiDGiN

Table is set at PiDGiN

interior

interior

Mushrooms, sugar snap peas, egg, soy yuzu brown butter

Mushrooms, sugar snap peas, egg, soy yuzu brown butter

can't see it, but one of them is the gnocchi

can’t see it, but one of them is the gnocchi

Scallops, fried polenta, brussel sprouts, XO, caper raisin

Scallops, fried polenta, brussel sprouts, XO, caper raisin

At some point in the evening, B decided to give me a hand and a quick lesson on how to use some of the other functions on my camera.  After she showed me the indoor (party?) function.. and I finally figured out how to remove the automatic flash, the food looked a little less dark in the photos.  Thanks B!!

Beef Tongue and Cheek

Beef Tongue and Cheek

fried chicken wings

fried chicken wings

IMG_0825

Overall, the experience was .. ok.  I am glad that I tried it out with T, B and V but I don’t see it as a restaurant that I will frequent.  For the price paid, I would prefer to have a *little* more quantity.  I appreciate the fact that the quality of the ingredients was good and probably accounts for half the price (and experience) but I’m only lukewarm to paying extra for presentation… especially when it’s too dark to appreciate what the food looks like.

Out of all the appetizers and mains that we tried, I think my favourite two items were the fried chicken wings and the beef.  Having said that, I still think the fried chicken wings ($12) were well over the price range that I would normally pay for …well… fried chicken wings.  I can think of other places that have very delicious chicken wings … that either give you many, many more wings than what we were served with here… or they charge a lot less for the same quantity.

And in case you are wondering.. no, we didn’t see any protesters when we left the restaurant.  Maybe they had Mondays off…
Pidgin on Urbanspoon

