Tags

, , , ,

Earlier this year, Patricia and I met up for dinner.  We wanted to branch out from our usual places and try other eateries.   I remember a coworker telling me about Applause Japanese Restaurant in the Marpole area.  He mentioned that the food was really good and relatively authentic.  We decided to give it a try.

Getting there after work was not the easiest thing as heading southbound on Oak Street meant getting stuck in rush hour traffic.  I was happy to know they had a parking lot in the back and when I eventually found it,  I was able to snag one of the last spots.

I arrived earlier than Patricia and they seated me in the back by the kitchen.   It was a cold (January) evening and I was glad to be as far away as possible from the entrance where cold air would blast through whenever someone opened the door.  While I waited for Patricia, I took photos of the cute plate and cup.  I also watched lots of people come in to pick up their take-out orders.  Yes, I had lots of time.

Pretty plates and cups

Pretty plates and cups

After Patricia arrived, we quickly picked out a few items to share and started our non-stop chattering.  We had much to catch up on and before we knew it, the food was all laid out on the table.

spinach gomae

spinach gomae

Spider Roll

Spider Roll

Futomaki and House rolls

Futomaki and House rolls

shrimp gyoza

shrimp gyoza

We ordered a bit of everything without going overboard (as we normally would do).  The food was good and the prices seemed reasonable.  I’m not a  fan of raw tuna so the house roll was (as expected) not my favourite.  I enjoyed the shrimp gyoza the most and I did get the extra piece of spider roll as well. (I love soft shell crab)  We stayed for quite some time and the attentive servers kept refilling our tea cups.  Eventually we had to tell them to stop.  I’m pretty sure that I probably drank a whole pot of tea (and more) on my own!

I’m glad my coworker suggested it… although next time I go, I will try to avoid a weekday evening during rush hour.

Applause Japanese Restaurant 讚和食料理 on Urbanspoon

