Tags

, , , , , , ,

As my camera and my lap top continue their dispute and communication error through the holiday season, I took the opportunity to go through my post-Australia trip photos and take inventory.  It appears that the latter part of November and most of December of 2012 were spent easing back into normal life.  (Translation: “normal” = not eating 3 big meals a day.)   I only found the odd set of food photos sprinkled in between random pictures with friends and their kids.

It’s Boxing Day today and the malls are insanely busy… I will use this time wisely to catch up on blogging.

Unless I am travelling, on vacation or someone else is driving, I usually don’t like going out of my way to look for food.  When I’m at work, particularly lunch breaks, I tend to go within a 2-block radius.  A one-hour lunch break goes by really quickly and if I have to factor in the extra time to walk to and from the place as well as get caught up in the noon-hour line-up (because it took me longer to get to and from the restaurant/cafe), there isn’t much time left to eat.  If I’m meeting up with friends for dinner downtown, that 2-block radius might extend a bit depending on the occasion or what cuisine we’re craving.

Looking through my photos, I came across these pictures:

Mr Shawarma - menu

Mr Shawarma – menu

food truck

food truck

Falafel all wrapped up

Falafel all wrapped up

IMG_0492

the fries are in there too!

the fries are in there too!

I still remember that day in the office.  I had no particular cravings and didn’t know what I wanted to get for lunch.  It was a cold and damp day and the even the thought of being outside in the cold wasn’t very encouraging.  As I was leaving the office, I ran into a co-worker who told me she and a few others were doing a Mr. Shawarma run.  A… what??  She told me that the falafels were good and they were pretty quick at getting the food orders.  Most importantly, it is close to the office.  I decided to follow along and try it out.

There were only two items on the menu so it was a simple decision – chicken shawarma or falafel.  I turned to my co-worker and asked her what she was getting.  She was ordering for a couple of people and they were all getting falafels which made things even easier for me – falafel.  We managed to place our order before the big lunch rush came and we only had to stand out in the cold for a few minutes.

Service was fast and the falafel was filling.  The potato fries were stuffed in the pita wrap so carrying it back to the office was less challenging.   For $5 (at that time… the prices may have gone up in the past year)… it was a pretty good deal. I sometimes look at the food carts and the pricing… if the price seems comparable to a sit-down cafe or noodle house, then I’d rather go somewhere that offers me a place to sit down and rest my feet while I eat.

Mr. Shawarma on Urbanspoon

That reminds me…. I’ve been meaning to go back and try the chicken shawarma.  When I am working downtown again,  I will hop on over and try the chicken shawarma.

Digging a little further in my December 2012 file folder, I also came across these photos…

View of Robson Street from our table

View of Robson Street from our table

View of Thurlow Street from our table

View of Thurlow Street from our table

Red Robin's menu (2012)

Red Robin’s menu (2012)

Towering Onion Rings... looks like the photo..

Towering Onion Rings… looks like the photo..

Sweet Jim Beam Bacon Swiss Burger

Sweet Jim Beam Bacon Swiss Burger

IMG_0506

I met up with my good friend, N, for dinner after work one night and we decided to go somewhere close for a quick bite.  We both wanted burgers and decided to go to a place where we could have burgers but not have to shout at each other over loud music.  Red Robin on Robson seemed to be the best option.

N and I had lots to catch up on although we did spend a bit of time studying the menu.  It was a pretty quick decision for me as the photo on the menu caught my eye and then the words “bacon” and “swiss” kept my attention.  And if they only serve it once a year… might as well try it.   We decided to share the onion rings as a starter.

When the food came, it was nice to know that I could recognize it.  (Yes! It actually looked like the photo!!)  The onion rings must be eaten while they are still hot.  Once they cool down… it just doesn’t taste the same.  The burger was good.  I love melted swiss cheese and the bacon gave it some fatty flavour.  Too bad they only offer it during the holiday season.

Red Robin on Urbanspoon

