Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Our day may have started with a casual lunch at Lee and Me, but the life of a Housewife often involves other important tasks such as grocery shopping and running errands.  Being the Houseguest that barely plans anything in advance, I was content to follow V around all day.

Grocery shopping with V was fun and efficient.  It was K’s birthday and he had requested a Persian meal.  V designed the meal and wrote out her shopping list.  She knew exactly what she needed and where to get it.  In a little more than just a blink of an eye (ok, two blinks), we returned to V’s home with bags of fresh groceries.

After laying out all the required ingredients, we sat down for a tea break.  Remember those macarons that V and I picked up from Ladurée in Sydney the previous day (my last post)?  V and I had our very own “afternoon tea” in the comforts of her home.

Tea time!

Tea time!

Macarons from Laduree

Macarons from Laduree

After the macarons were inhaled and the tea sampled, we started to work on the most important task of the day… preparing K’s birthday dinner.  V was the chef for the evening and I was the  kitchen assistant. Anything that involved cooking over the stove was done by V.  Most of the little tasks like washing, chopping and blending fell under my job description.

Thanks to V who looked at one my photos the other day and provided me with the proper names for labelling.  (At least, I hope I labelled them properly!)

Ready for some homemade Persian food…?

From this...

From this…

...to this!

…to this!

Yes, I did the fine chopping for this cucumber...

Yes, I did the fine chopping for this cucumber…

My handiwork - Mast-o-khiar (Cucumber and Mint Yogurt)!

My handiwork – Mast-o-khiar (Cucumber and Mint Yogurt)!

V took care of the main dish... part 1

V took care of the main dish… part 1

.. part 2 lamb stew simmering ...

.. part 2 lamb stew simmering …

...part 3 pan-fry eggplant...

…part 3 pan-fry eggplant…

...part 4 ...

…part 4 …

... part 5 - combined!  Voila -- Khoresht Bademjan (Eggplant and lamb stew)

… part 5 – combined! Voila — Khoresht Bademjan (Eggplant and lamb stew)

Crunchy potatoes for the Polo with tahdig (rice with crunchy potatoes)

Crunchy potatoes for the Polo with tahdig (rice with crunchy potatoes)

Soup-e Jo - barley soup

Soup-e Jo – barley soup

Mix salad washed, cut and mixed by me!

Mix salad washed, cut and mixed by me!

K's Persian Birthday Meal!

K’s Persian Birthday Meal!

So what do you think of my cooking skills? Okay.. more like assistant skills?  😉

The food was extremely tasty!!  I think my appetite doubled in that meal alone.  So after stuffing ourselves with this selection of yummy food, we rested for a bit before bringing out the dessert for the birthday boy…

K's birthday dessert platter

K’s birthday dessert platter

Looking at the calendar and knowing how sporadic my blogging has been lately, it’s been over half a year since K’s birthday.  Yet looking at the photos of his birthday meal and remembering how tasty the food was, I’m getting hungry again…!

