Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After our late lunch that October afternoon, V and I wandered over to the Crown Street Mall for some window shopping.  There was a nice selection of shops to look at …from outdoor wear to card shops to department stores such as David Jones. Did you know that David Jones is “not only Australia’s oldest department store, but the oldest department store in the world still trading under its original name” …?  I didn’t.  I only learned that from Wollongong’s City Centre Management website last week while searching for the name of the mall.  Nice… I learned another random but international fact.

This particular sunny day was dedicated to relaxing and having “no plans” in Wollongong.  It was a chance for Housewife V to take House Guest (yes, that’s me) around the local neighbourhood.  We browsed through a few shops before heading over to the grocery store to pick up a few dinner items.

water fountain at Crown Street Mall

water fountain at Crown Street Mall

Wollongong Courthouse

Wollongong Courthouse

Wollongong Courthouse

For dinner, Housewife V was making tacos and House Guest (yes, still me) transformed into Kitchen Assistant.  V dealt with the meats while I was tasked with slicing and shredding vegetables as well as mashing the avocado into guacamole.  I must point out that using a fork to mash avocado into guacamole is quite the tiring task … especially if the avocado has not reached mushy ripeness yet.

the dinner ingredients

the dinner ingredients

red onions, green and red peppers

red onions, green and red capsicum (peppers)

chicken

chicken

lettuce and tomatoes

lettuce and tomatoes

browning the chicken

browning the chicken

guacamole in the making...

guacamole in the making…

IMG_9433

In case you are wondering, it’s not your eyesight.  Most of these photos are a bit blurry.  Quick photos were snapped in between tasks as Kitchen Assistant didn’t want Housewife to kick her out of the kitchen for being a nuisance.  😉

Soon after K returned home, the tacos were ready.  V timed it really well.  The chicken and capsicum (peppers) were tender and flavourful.  Add on the toppings of fresh lettuce and tomatoes with a splash of salsa and cheese… delicious!

table set and tacos are ready!

table set and tacos are ready!

fresh toppings ...

fresh toppings …

taco #1...

taco #1…

taco # 5? 6?  ... I lost count...

taco # 5? 6? … I lost count…

K had asked me if I had tried a drink called Lemon Lime & Bitters.  Can’t say I have before so I gave it a try.  It was good.  Of course, with the bit of internet searching, I learned from Wikipedia that “Lemon, Lime and Bitters” is usually considered a nonalcoholic cocktail as it has a low alcohol content.  Really?  There is alcohol in there?  Oh….

Lemon Lime & Bitters

Lemon Lime & Bitters

After a very filling dinner (I lost count after my fourth taco), we cleared the table and relaxed before the television.  I opted to stay at the table to do some blogging.  I was trying to keep up with blogging at least once a week.   It was time for another post so I wrote up “Pancakes, Dumplings and Lasagna … All in a Day’s Eating in Wollongong.”  Thankfully V didn’t mind me hogging her laptop for the evening.  Or was it because I made egg tarts for dessert?  😉  Only kidding… V is a very generous person so even if there were no egg tarts, I know she would still let me use her computer to blog.  🙂

ingredients for egg tarts

ingredients for egg tarts

pouring in the filling

pouring in the filling

fresh out of the oven

fresh out of the oven

egg tarts and tea (and blogging)

egg tarts and tea (and blogging)

