Tags

, , , , , , , ,

How quickly time flies by!  This blog, which started as a school assignment, has been up for one year.  The most amazing part is that I’ve managed to keep up with blogging even after the course requirements ended.  It is a challenge at times to sit down and write… even if it’s only once a week.  I seem to always think of how to word things while I’m commuting to and from work.  Unfortunately, that is also when I am unable to write my thoughts.

Unlike some other people out there who might either be professional or natural writers and can connect coherent thoughts with much ease, that is not the case for me.  I do not consider having much creativity in me and struggle a bit while writing something with minimal guidelines.  This blog has been my main source and outlet for exercising my creative muscles.

Similarly, unlike many people out there who have much fancier cameras, I like to use my simple (but hot pink) digital camera to take photos.  This is already a step up from my previous camera that probably took a full 30 seconds to even save the photo before allowing another one to be taken.

my hot pink camera

So if you’ve read this far, you may be wondering why I mention this.  A month or two ago, a colleague shared some food photos that he had taken with his fancy camera at a dinner.  (Fancy meaning more elaborate than my simple digital camera.)  He also shared this comment that he received from someone, “I bet your food blog will be way better than Shelley’s.  I think her’s sucks.  But don’t tell her I told you that.”

First reaction:  OK.  Second reaction:  Thanks for the feedback.  You don’t have to read it if you don’t want to.

I thought it might be something worth sharing on my one-year blog post.  I think I did pretty good.  Like all negative feedback that one receives, I probably felt a little touch of “ouch” that faded quickly into the everyone-is-entitled-to-their-own-opinion.  Fair enough … and the Earth continues to spin.  Oh, and maybe he shouldn’t have shared that with me since the other person didn’t want me to know.

I do appreciate the people who take the time to drop by my blog and leave me a comment or hit the “like” button.  Like one of my most respected friends said, if it wasn’t for the fact that he knows that this is my blog, he wouldn’t be reading/following it.  (Thank you!)  I am by no means a professional writer or food critic or food photographer or anything else related to those areas.  There are probably tons of grammatical errors that WordPress spell check catches for me.  I simply like to have my little corner to grow my creativity garden.  If you like to, you are more than welcome to join me here.

In celebration of one year and while I appreciate those who have taken the time to follow my creative playground here or even just swing by to visit… here’s a couple of photos of a lunch I had at Guu Garden with my much respected friend.  How can you say no to such a polite recommendation?  😉

“Please try” menu

the “please try” daytime special

In case you want to know.. this Chef’s Recommendation was delicious!!  We tried to order this the following week but it wasn’t on the menu.

