Tags

, ,

I spent six Saturdays in January and February waking up early and attending the BCIT Effective Public Speaking course.  I must admit it was very difficult getting up early that very first day. I love to sleep in on the weekends and the snow falling from the sky that Saturday morning was not helping with my struggle. I eventually dragged myself out of bed and trudged to class.

From that first class on, I have not regretted taking the course.  Like most people, I cringe at the thought of having to do public speaking.  I also found that the preparation for each presentation was somewhat painful since I often left it until late Friday night to start.  The lack of sleep probably did not help either, but I don’t recall feeling tired in class.  In fact, I enjoyed class.  Each week, I’d spend the entire week at work looking forward to attending my Saturday course.

Miriam is a fabulous instructor.  She sprinkled in entertaining stories while explaining and demonstrating the important concepts that we needed to learn.  When it was our turn for show time (aka our speeches), I was fascinated by the variety of topics being presented.  From nutrients to muay thai and from magic shows to telecommunications, I think our small class of eight students covered it all in our numerous presentations.  With each round of  speeches, came group reminders and individual comments from Miriam. Taking in the constructive feedback that was provided to us helped make our next presentations easier and hopefully better.

It was a sad day for me when the course finally came to an end last week.  I really enjoyed the course.  If BCIT tuition for the course wasn’t so expensive, I would take it again… as long as Miriam is teaching.  I feel the need to keep up with the skills that I have just grown comfortable with.  Guess that means I will need to find a way to practice.

This past weekend was my first Saturday in many weeks that I did not have to get up early for class.  Although it was great to be able to sleep in and enjoy the feeling of being lazy on a Saturday morning, I felt as though I was missing something.  Yes, I miss the fun and my new friends of my public speaking class.

I do not have a food photo directly related to this course.  Instead, I have selected a photo from my travels that can be used to parallel the experience.  While travelling in Australia, my friends and I stopped in Leura to check out the cute little shops and drink some tea.  This was the first time I tried a blossoming or blooming tea.  With the right environment (hot water), the dried bulb of tea leaves opens up and displays a refreshing and visually appealing drink.  It might be a bit of a stretch but I think this is similar to public speaking.   With the right environment (skills and anticipation), the individual can set aside the fear of public speaking and present to others to the best of his/her ability.

Blossoming tea in Leura, Australia

In full bloom

3-dimensional experience

