Tags

, , , , ,

With Christmas only a week away, there seems to be so much to do.  I am almost done Christmas shopping.  I hope to be done in the next few days.  Now that I think about it, I guess I don’t have much choice because Christmas is next weekend!  *gasp*

Although it seems to have warmed up a little, we have had a few chilly days with a forecast of mixed precipitation (depicted by a cloud with raindrops and snowflakes).  We did have a day in November when the snow came down in big flakes and certain areas of the city had more slush than others.  Thankfully, there have not been any other snowy days (yet).  Don’t get me wrong… I love snow!  I like hugging my mug of hot chocolate and staring out the window to admire the clean, white and undisturbed scenery as the snow drifts down and collects.  In my opinion, the peaceful and serene feeling associated with the first big snowfall of the season is absolutely enchanting.  Of course, the stipulation being… I am already at home and I do not need to leave the house again that night.

To add some winter to my blog, I’ve added the “falling snow” effect.  What do you think?  Does it create a winter / holiday feel to this page?  Unfortunately it only stays until early January and then the snow stops falling.

It’s weather like this that makes me crave warm comfort food.  Something homemade would be nice.  I remember when V was in town for her recent visit, we had a special mac & cheese night at B’s.  B has a recipe that was simple to follow and with the three of us taking on different roles, we were well on our way to mac & cheese bliss in no time. And to top it all off, we had Terra Breads Christmas treats for dessert.  Yummy!

cooked pasta - check, melted cheese sauce - check, shredded cheese - check ... ready for assembly!

assembled and ready ...

... into the oven!

fresh out of the oven

Dinner is served!

my first serving

Pumpkin tart and Pecan tart from Terra Breads

