Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Day two in Bellevue started after a good night’s rest.

As my friend’s wedding was scheduled to start in the afternoon, I had time in the morning to meet up with KY, an old friend from high school.  KY moved to Seattle a couple of years ago and when she found out that I was attending a wedding in Bellevue, she came out to meet up with me.  We decided to go to Din Tai Fung which was only a block over from The Westin Bellevue.

I’ve tried dumplings at Din Tai Fung… but this was my first visit to the Bellevue location.  My first taste of Din Tai Fung dumplings was in Sydney, Australia.  I remember waiting for almost an hour to get a table.  We stood outside the restaurant and watched through the viewing window as the dumplings were being made.  Luckily for KY and I, we only waited for a few minutes as they cleaned a table and seated us.  Was it that quiet that we were able to get a table immediately?  No, it was only 10 am in the morning and they were already lined up outside.  The catch is that we were the only “group” waiting for a 2-person table while the rest of the people needed a table of 4 or more.

dumplings in production

dumplings in production

IMG_1059

KY let me pick the food and unsurprising to those who know me, we had a table of various steamed dumplings.  Only dumplings.  :)

Juicy Pork Dumplings

Juicy Pork Dumplings

Vegetarian Dumplings

Vegetarian Dumpling

 

Shrimp & Pork Shao Mai

Shrimp & Pork Shao Mai

Did I mention I love steamed dumplings?  Mmm.. yes, between KY and myself, we cleaned it off.  I probably could have kept eating but I didn’t want to stuff myself silly.  After all, I still have a wedding to attend in the afternoon and a nice dress to fit into.

It was a very enjoyable meal with KY.  She and I had so many years of catching up to do.  We shared highlights and experiences of the past decade while feasting on freshly steamed dumplings.  She’s had so many experiences (good and bad) that all my “challenges” barely register on the “richter scale.”   I am happy to see that she is happy and that is all that matters. :)

Din Tai Fung 鼎泰豐 on Urbanspoon

After a fabulous morning of catching up with KY, it was soon time to get ready to attend my friend’s wedding.  The ceremony was set for the afternoon with a dinner reception in the evening.  The benefit of staying upstairs from the ceremony and reception was I had time between the two activities to go upstairs and change from a daytime dress to an evening gown.  I also had time to fix my hair …. something which I usually neglect.  My roommates actually had time to go to the mall across the street and do some shopping.  Wow.

When it was time for the pre-dinner cocktail, my roommates and I made our way downstairs to join the other guests.  Lots of people everywhere and I met up my other friends and their families (spouses & babies).  When they were ready to seat the guests, we made our way into the dining area.

reception

reception

Table is set!

Table is set!

IMG_1114

Talk about efficiency!  Not only were the tables set but they had already served the salad on the tables before the guests arrived.  Can you pick your seat based on which plate of salad catches your eye?  I suppose you can… but I picked my seat to be beside my high school friend’s wife.  She and I had some catching up to do too!

Salad

Salad

Entree

Entree

Tea

Tea

Lemon Drop

Lemon Drop

Red Velvet Wedding Cake

Red Velvet Wedding Cake

Dinner was pleasant with speeches scattered between salad, entrée and dessert.  I can’t remember the size of the wedding but my guess is about 100 – 120 people (including the wedding couple).  It was a good size though as the bride and groom had time to visit tables and chat with all their guests.  Oftentimes when it’s a big wedding with lots of guests, you can barely congratulate the bride and groom as you move through the reception line.  All in all a fun and relaxing wedding!

After the reception wrapped up, a few of us decided to head over to a nearby pub.  It wasn’t that we were still hungry but rather we were sitting at different tables and didn’t have a chance to chat during the dinner.  After a short walk, we stopped in at Paddy Coyne’s Irish Pub.

lime soda

lime soda

Fry Basket

Fry Basket

Guinness BBq Chicken Tenders

Guinness BBq Chicken Tenders

I opted for a non-alcoholic drink and ordered my usual lime soda.  As a group, we shared an order of the Fry Basket and the Guinness BBq Chicken Tenders.  The fries topped with melted cheese tasted good.  Even though I was still full from the wedding reception, I was still able to munch down a quite a few fries.  I must have been craving veggies as the celery tasted pretty good too.

Paddy Coyne's Irish Pub on Urbanspoon
The next morning, my roommates and I met up with the newlywed couple and some of their other friends for brunch.  The food was only so-so, the pictures turned out too dark and therefore not worth blogging about.   Shortly after that, we were on the road and back to Vancouver — Weekend in Bellevue completed.

 

 

