Tags

, , , , , ,

I have a day off work today.  Some of my plans for today didn’t pan out but since I’m at home for most of the day, I should use my time productively.  This doesn’t mean I’ll pull out my notes from work and start organizing my to do lists. At least, that’s not what I plan to do now.  Instead, catching up on my blogging sounds like a great idea.  Flipping through my previous posts, I realized I still haven’t blogged about last year’s Bellevue trip so I’ll use a little time today to write about that weekend getaway.

Last year, my friend got married in Bellevue.  Her Vancouver friends travelled down for the weekend to attend the wedding.  Thankfully the ceremony and the reception were all at a single venue (The Westin Bellevue) which made trip planning much easier.  The wedding was on the Saturday afternoon/evening so we travelled down Friday afternoon and came home Sunday afternoon.

Check out our hotel:

IMG_1025IMG_1030IMG_1031

view from our room

view from our room

view from our room

view from our room

waiting in the lobby

waiting in the lobby

IMG_1047

The first night in Bellevue was just an evening to settle in.  I was sharing a room with the bride’s two former colleagues and after dropping off our belongings we went out in search of food.  We walked up Bellevue Way to see what our options were and eventually stopped at Boom Noodle.  We looked at the menu posted at the door and it seemed like a reasonable choice.  Of course, it is worth noting that according to Urbanspoon, it is now permanently closed at that location.  That’s okay though because our dining experience was only so-so.  However, I did take a picture of my food so I might as well include it here….

Thai Chicken Salad with a side order of Kimchi

Thai Chicken Salad with a side order of Kimchi

Later in the evening, we met up with the wedding couple and the rest of her out-of-town friends and family for dessert at the Tap House Grill.  When my roommates and I looked at the selection on the menu, words didn’t even need to be exchanged and to understand each other’s thoughts.  We should have had dinner here.  But, not to worry, we ordered dessert and drinks to make up for our mediocre dinner at Boom.

my drink

my drink

a shared dessert platter

a shared dessert platter

sliders

sliders

So before you start thinking that I ordered all that as dessert… no, no, no.. not all mine!  I ordered a drink and shared a dessert platter.  It’s been awhile now but I seem to recall that I ordered the Mango-Rita (benefits of taking a random picture that happened to have part of the drink menu in it).  A few of us decided to share the dessert platter so we could try a bit of everything.  Sometimes, it’s difficult to decide on just one dessert.  It’s always good when you can share for a taste of everything. As for the sliders… one of my roommates ordered it.  She wasn’t particularly hungry at the time but after reading the menu, it caught her eye.
Tap House Grill on Urbanspoon

After an evening of catching up and meeting new people, we all went back to our hotel rooms to settle in for the evening.  I let my roommates wash up and get ready for sleep first as one of them was the driver and the other one worked all day before we picked her up to drive down to Bellevue.  While waiting my turn, I took a look outside and was greeted by this night view:

IMG_1057 IMG_1056

… and that was my first evening in Bellevue!

