Tags

, , , , , , ,

I thought street running in the rain with N on Tuesday was already moving out of my comfort zone and required quite a bit of  commitment to my new “training” program.  As it turns out, today was a true test to my training in the rain. Compared to the drizzle that touched upon us on Tuesday, today’s rain came down as a healthy pitter-patter that formed puddles everywhere.  I found out before noon that N had lunch plans and she would be unable to join me.  It did cross my mind that  maybe I should just skip today.  Do I really want to go out in the rain and run on my own…?

Earlier in the morning, I noticed my irritation level was starting to rise.  It was quite obvious to me as I was making conscious efforts to keep all my little bits of grumpiness under wraps.  When lunch time rolled around, I looked at the bag with all my running gear.  Can I get myself to go out and run… alone?  Of course!  In fact, I realized with all the negative energy settling in, I needed to get out, run and expend some energy — even if it was a very slow and short run,

Once I had changed into my running gear and cap, I felt eager to go out and start my run.  If I didn’t melt on Tuesday’s run, then I knew it would be all good today.  I plugged in my running playlist and started out at a slow pace.  The uphill trek at the beginning required some mental push.  Because I was running alone, I had considered just running a kilometre and then turning back.  As I neared the one kilometre mark, my running was at a comfortable pace and I decided to keep pushing ahead.  Eventually I ran two kilometres out before turning back.  In total, I ran about four kilometres at lunch time.

As I ran, my mind started to wander back to food and places where I have eaten before.  Perhaps it was because I was running in the west end but my mind kept returning to Forage.  Located at The Listel Hotel (1300-block Robson Street), Forage is another “farm to table” sustainable restaurant around the city.  It supports sustainability and making a positive contribution to the world.

IMG_1446

B picked Forage for her birthday dinner last summer.  We had a group of 10-12 people and we were seated against the back wall area.  I arrived fairly early so I had a few minutes to look around, take a couple of photos and even chat with some of B’s friends.  I must admit that it was a little distracting to be sitting across from two tv screens.  The screen was only showing a repeat of a few slides showing some random pictures (ok, maybe not all of them are random…).

IMG_1431

big screen tvs?

big screen televisions?

When the majority of the group arrived, we ordered a number of dishes to be shared:

popcorn and crackling

popcorn and crackling

spicy kale and apple chips

spicy kale and apple chips

flatbread - pancetta, morel mushrooms, onion bechamel, Jersey blue

flatbread – pancetta, morel mushrooms, onion bechamel, Jersey blue

stinging nettle and biodynamic Carnaroli risotto, Golden Ears brie, roasted hazelnut and nettle pesto, pea tips

stinging nettle and biodynamic Carnaroli risotto, Golden Ears brie, roasted hazelnut and nettle pesto, pea tips

IMG_1442

IMG_1444

Dungeness crab and new potato perogies, horseradish crema, pickled romaine, green onion puree

Dungeness crab and new potato perogies, horseradish crema, pickled romaine, green onion puree

someone ordered this.. and I am not sure what was ordered.....

someone ordered this.. and I am not sure what was ordered…..

irish ale steamed mussels, wild watercress, fries and horseradish aioli

irish ale steamed mussels, wild watercress, fries and horseradish aioli

award winning BC spot prawn and seafood chowder

award-winning BC spot prawn and seafood chowder

It was good to have a big group of people at the table as we were able to share and sample many different menu items.  This was the first time I actually paid attention to kale (at least enough to know that it’s called kale).  My favourite items were the crispy kale, the gnocchi and the chowder.

Forage on Urbanspoon

