Tags

, , , , ,

Early last year, I met up with Patricia and some of her friends after work.  We went to a restaurant called Lin Chinese Cuisine and Tea House.  Lin’s is on Broadway just off of Granville Street in Vancouver.  Heading over to the restaurant after work was convenient since it only involved taking one bus out of downtown.

I was the first to arrive at Lin’s  As we had a reservation for an early dinner, I walked into a relatively empty restaurant with only a couple of seated tables by the windows.  I stood by the door for some time before a server finally acknowledged that I was there…Not a great first impression for me.

The server seated me at a large table close to the kitchen area.  From my seat, I was able to watch as them make dumplings while waiting for Patricia and her friends to arrive.  I was a few minutes early and they were a few minutes late so the dumpling-making entertainment helped time go.

making dumplings

making dumplings

When Patricia and her friends arrived, I left the ordering to them.  From the conversations, it sounded like they had been to the restaurant before (and maybe for lunches as well).  Here’s what showed up on our table:

xiao long bao

xiao long bao

kungpao chicken... ?

kungpao chicken… ?

steamed vegetable dumplings

steamed vegetable dumplings

noodles in soup

noodles in soup

spicy ma-po tofu

spicy ma-po tofu

noodles in soup

noodles in soup

The food tasted good and the dumplings were delicious.  I guess that sort of made up for the bad first impression.  My favourite items were the xiao long bao, the dumplings and the chicken.  (I love dumplings.)  I’m sure the noodles in soup tasted good but by the time they arrived at the table, I was already starting to feel full.

I wouldn’t mind going back again … but am a bit leery about the service.  Perhaps next time, I will make sure that whoever I’m meeting is there with me.

Lin Chinese Cuisine and Tea House 林餐館 on Urbanspoon

