Tags

, , , , ,

Have I ever mentioned that I love the falling snow effect that WordPress has in December?  Oh yes, I have…. I do prefer the falling snow on WordPress over the real flakes that fall from the sky and practically paralyzes the city.

My previous blog entry was in early November.  Not just the last 6 weeks but the last few months of my life have been a bit of a blur.  So many changes at work… opportunities that have come up and with those opportunities comes more work.  I’ve toyed with the idea of writing a big year-end posting but it takes so much effort and discipline to sit down and write these weekly (now monthly…?) postings that I fear the year-end posting is too ambitious to even think about.  I’ve also thought about changing the lay-out of the blog but that again seems just as tedious a task.  Between readjusting to the changes to work duties, lots of knitting, cold-shoulder issues between my camera memory card and laptop and even forgetting my username to log into WordPress, it’s been one crazy time period.

Oh yes, you read that right….I’m having problems getting photos off my camera because the memory card has decided that it won’t the let the laptop card reader recognize it and it won’t let the connection cord method work either.  “Communication Error” is the flashing message that I get.  Too bad I can’t use that excuse when I’m having a bad day.  I’m going to try my co-worker’s card reader to see if I can retrieve the photo files.  At least the memory card is still letting me save photos on it…

Perhaps it is a good thing that I fell a bit behind in my blogging…at least I still have some more dining adventures to blog about. … Unfortunately… I’m *so* behind in my blogging that the next restaurant is (according to UrbanSpoon) is permanently closed — Boneta.

Shortly after our Whistler trip, B and I took T out for her birthday dinner (late November 2012).  T picked Boneta in Gastown.  We shared some small plates, ordered some larger ones and marvelled over the delicious desserts.  I won’t go into too much more detail about the food itself since the restaurant is already closed… but I’m happy to share the photos I took that evening.

IMG_0475 IMG_0476 IMG_0483

my lime soda

my lime soda

starter item... but I can't read the fuzzy menu...

starter item… but I can’t read the fuzzy menu…

starter soup... but I can't read the fuzzy menu...

starter soup… but I can’t read the fuzzy menu…

Yukon Gold Potato Gnocchi, Shortrib Ragout, Horseradish Gremolata, Basil & Parmesan

Yukon Gold Potato Gnocchi, Shortrib Ragout, Horseradish Gremolata, Basil & Parmesan

Squash Risotto, Zucchini, Patty Pans, Mascarpone & Truffled Pecorino (I think)

Squash Risotto, Zucchini, Patty Pans, Mascarpone & Truffled Pecorino (I think)

Steelhead Trout, ... I think..?

Steelhead Trout, … I think..?

Lemon Scented Pavlova, Raspberries, Pistachio Mousse & Brittle

Lemon Scented Pavlova, Raspberries, Pistachio Mousse & Brittle

Dark Chocolate Tart, Almond Orange Crust, Citrus Streusel & Chocolate Ice Cream

Dark Chocolate Tart, Almond Orange Crust, Citrus Streusel & Chocolate Ice Cream

The flavour of the fresh ingredients came through and were quite tasty.  I particularly liked the pavlova dessert.  It’s too bad that Boneta has closed permanently…

Boneta on Urbanspoon

