Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After brunch, we wandered back to the hotel.  On our way, we stopped off at the Roots.  I returned a couple of items that did not pass the “buyer’s remorse” test the previous day.  Those returned items didn’t make a visible dent in my overall spending but it did help ease my mind a bit.

Housekeeping must have come by while we were out.  The room looked tidy and untouched again.

IMG_0417 IMG_0416 IMG_0418

It was chilly out and I was content to hang around the hotel room until it was time for our Cornucopia event.  Since we were up at Whistler during Cornucopia (2012), it only made sense that we attend a drink seminar.  B and I picked out the WineAccess Killer Value Wines which was held in one of the rooms at the Whistler Conference Centre.

a table setting .. here's how it started

a table setting .. here’s how it started

Doors opened minutes before the event and we sat at the back of the room.  I don’t know much about wine-tasting so thankfully B gave me a crash-course on how to sample wine.  Our event had a panel of people at the front of the room talking about the qualities of the different types of wines that we were trying.  I seem to recall that they are some sort of judging panel or at least judging panel calibre.  Of course, I don’t know much about wine or the industry (except that I like most Riesling and ice wines) so their names meant nothing to me.

IMG_0429

view from my seat

view from my seat

I tried at least a sip from every glass.  There were some that I liked and others that weren’t to my liking. Out of 12 wines, I cleaned off 3 of them and almost cleaned off 2 more.  My favourites were Pinot Gris 2011 Wild Goose Vineyards, Cono Sur Bicycle Viogner 2011, The Beachhouse Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2011, Galil Mountain Rose 2011 and Fetzer Zinfandel 2009.  I cleared off the Pinot Gris, the Sauvignon Blanc and the Zinfandel.  The Sauvignon Blanc reminded me of travelling with V in Australia.  While I would search the Riesling options on the wine menu, she was always studying the Sauvignon blanc list.

...and this is how it ended

…and this is how it ended

I understand that the intent of wine-sampling is not to down everything that is put before you.  However, I did notice there was some guy who had gone through the first four glasses while the panel was still talking about the first one.  After the 7th glass of wine (I didn’t like that one … so I had no interest in the discussion about that wine) … that guy had already finished all 12 glasses!!  Wow… perhaps his only purpose for attending this event was to drink all the wine placed in front of him.  Hmmm….

After the event, B and I headed back to the hotel.  If I thought the morning was chilly.. the afternoon was definitely freezing.  At first I thought it was because we were leaving a heated conference centre and venturing to the outdoors.  When the little white flakes started to fall, it all made sense.

Whistler Conference Centre

Whistler Conference Centre

Walking back to the hotel

Walking back to the hotel.  That’s not dust on the lens, it’s snow falling from the sky

Yep..it was snowing.   Oh… and did I mention we had a spa appointment that afternoon?…more specifically… a pedicure appointment?   As we sat in the room having our pedicures done, we watched the snow fall.  Just beyond the windows was a beautiful and serene scene… peaceful,  untouched and clean snow.  Inspired by the scenery outside, I opted to try something different on my toes:

blue nail polish with white sparkles and flecks

blue nail polish with white sparkles and flecks

IMG_0439IMG_0440

How quickly a day can fly by!  Not long after we left the spa, it was dinner time.  For dinner, B picked out Pasta Lupino.  Pasta Lupino is located just doors away from Crêpe Montagne.  The interior atmosphere is casual but cozy.

IMG_0451 IMG_0452

Looking at all the mouth-watering pasta options, it was difficult to decide.  I narrowed it down to 2 or 3 and finally just randomly picked one of them.  I can’t remember which one I ended up ordering.  I do remember B picked the one with meatballs.

IMG_0443IMG_0442

IMG_0444 IMG_0446

B's pasta

B’s pasta

my pasta...

my pasta

The food was delicious!  The bread was served warm, the salads were fresh and the pasta was tasty.  I cleared off everything I ordered… thankfully B didn’t want to order dessert because I was stuffed by the end of the meal.  The walk back to the hotel was also a fantastic idea.   Not only was walking necessary for working off some of that pasta but there had been an accident on the highway and traffic was backed up to Whistler.   It’s a good thing that we were staying a second night in Whistler.

Pasta Lupino on Urbanspoon

