Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The last day of my Australia trip… At the time, it was hard to believe that two weeks had gone by so quickly.  Yet looking at how long (8 months) it has taken me to blog about my 2 weeks of meals speaks volumes of how much fun we had and how much food we ate.  Or… it once again highlights the fact that I’m lucky I don’t write for a living or I might be starving from lack of income.

On that early November day, the weather forecasted some rain showers.  The clouds were already congregating above when we left home.  We were heading to North Wollongong Beach.  Unfortunately, because of the forecasted rain, we didn’t bring beach gear but rather extra clothing to stay warm in the windy weather.

We opted to try out Northbeach Pavilion Cafe, Restaurant & Takeaway Bar.  According to their Facebook page, Northbeach Pavilion opened on October 6, 2012.  We visited on November 3…less than a month!

North Wollongong Beach

North Wollongong Beach

We were seated by a window with a great view of the beach, the water and the lighthouses. Even though it was a Saturday, the beaches were empty.  Perhaps the looming clouds had something to do with that..?

IMG_0074

view from our table

view from our table

After taking a few photos of the scenery, I turned my attention to food and drink options.  The menu offered a variety of pizza, pasta and alternate choices.  Having eaten so many meals of pasta over the past two weeks, pizza seemed like a “refreshing” option.  I was also craving veggies so V and I also shared an order of steam broccolini.  I wanted a warm drink but didn’t feel like having a latte…hmm… hot chocolate instead…

Menu at Northbeach Pavilion

Menu at Northbeach Pavilion

IMG_0075

my hot chocolate

my hot chocolate

IMG_0078 IMG_0080

IMG_0083e

Pizza Al Crudo - with San Marzano Tomato, Buffalo Mozzarella, Rocket, Prosciutto Di Parma, Shaved Parmesan

Pizza Al Crudo – with San Marzano Tomato, Buffalo Mozzarella, Rocket, Prosciutto Di Parma, Shaved Parmesan

Gnocchetti Sardi with Fennel Pork Sausage Sauce and an order of Steam Broccolini with Roast Garlic

Gnochetti Sardi with Fennel Pork Sausage Sauce and an order of Steam Broccolini with Roast Garlic

Pizza Ortolana - with San Marzano Tomato, Fiordilatte, Zucchini, Aubergine, Red Pepper & Mushrooms

Pizza Ortolana – with San Marzano Tomato, Fiordilatte, Zucchini, Aubergine, Red Pepper & Mushrooms

The hot chocolate was good even though it only came with a lone pink marshmallow which disappeared in the blink of an eye.  I had been eyeing the Pizza Al Crudo on the menu (prosciutto.. yummy…) but since K was going to order it, I turned to my second choice and ordered the Pizza Ortolana.  Maybe K would be willing to trade a slice….. ?  ;)  I did get to try some of the Al Crudo and wished I had ordered that instead.  I realized that there were too many red peppers and not enough mushrooms (for my liking) on my Ortolana pizza.  But that is just my personal preference… otherwise, it was … pizza.

Northbeach Pavilion on Urbanspoon

Full from our late brunch at Northbeach Pavilion, we decided to walk off our meal with a short stroll to the lighthouse and cannons at Wollongong Harbour.  I took several photos along the way.

IMG_0089

See that dark cloud...

See that dark cloud…

...it's travelling pretty fast...

…it’s travelling pretty fast…

.. faster than us!

.. faster than us!

IMG_0099 IMG_0102

By the time we reached Flagstaff Hill Park, the dark clouds had beat us to our destination and were already starting to unload.  Yes, rain.  We quickly ducked into a covered area and bought some drinks to wait out the rain and enjoy the scenery.

IMG_0107 IMG_0110 IMG_0112 IMG_0114

As quickly as the heavy rains came, the clouds finished releasing their wares.  Not wanting to get stuck in another rain shower, we did a quick walk around the area and headed back to the car.  Time to go grocery shopping for dinner!

IMG_0115 IMG_0116

Cannons at Flagstaff Hill Park

Cannons at Flagstaff Hill Park

