Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As we left the sculptures at Marks Park and headed back to Sydney’s CBD, all that my mind could focus on was “mud crab.”  No kidding.  To me, travelling is all about the friends and food.  Friends… I had my two dear friends in the car with me … and food.. well, we were on our way to have a mud crab feast.   V, on the other hand, had one more task on her mind.  I wasn’t aware of V’s additional stop until we got closer to the busy CBD area.  My sense of direction is not the greatest even when in Vancouver, never mind Sydney.  In my recollection, I only know that CBD and Chinatown are not that far apart.

So where did V take me?

Laduree in Sydney CBD

Laduree in Sydney CBD

I remember V mentioning that Ladurée opened a shop in Sydney.  What I didn’t realize was that V wanted to treat me to a taste of Paris while visiting her. How sweet of her!!  I’m not sure if V is aware of this — years ago, I was in Paris with a group of friends.  My friends and I stopped at the Ladurée store on Champs-Elysées.  I was so taken by the pretty little desserts in the display case that I didn’t pay any attention to the macarons.

Looking through the glass display case in the Sydney mall, there were lots of colourful flavours to choose from.  Decisions, decisions, decisions…. thankfully there was a small line-up for purchases so I had a bit of time to decide.  I also asked the young lady taking our order if I could take photos.  Luckily she said it was fine and told me to take as many pictures as I wanted to.  I had some important decisions to make (picking out my macarons) so I only took a few quick shots. I think my interest was captured by the colours and flavours of the salted caramel, the pistachio and the new cherry blossom.  We selected our take-away and after they were neatly wrapped up and paid for, we rushed back to the car where K was waiting.

IMG_9623 IMG_9624 IMG_9625 IMG_9626

Ladurée on Urbanspoon

Did we eat our macarons then and there?  Noooo…. Remember that we were en route to a mud crab feast!  Dinner first, then dessert.  In fact, we did not eat the macarons until the next day (which of course, will be in another blog post).

Our next stop was what I had been looking forward to all day… mud crab!  :)  While we had our weekend stopover in Sydney just a few days earlier, the stars were not aligned for a mud crab feast.  From crowded restaurant to low supply of seafood and to, most importantly, rowdy (drunk?) guests, Saturday had not proved to be an ideal evening to visit East Ocean Restaurant.

As it was a Tuesday evening, the dining area was much quieter. We were quickly seated and offered a selection of menus.  We were there for the mud crab so the seafood menu only received a quick glance.  V and I picked out a noodles and vegetable dish to go with the mud crab.

IMG_9639

our mud crabs.. yes, plural

our mud crabs.. yes, plural

I'm ready

I’m ready

mud crab served

mud crab served

K used my camera to take a more artistic photo

K used my camera to take a more artistic photo

I love crab.  In and around Vancouver, I’ve only had dungeness crab and the seasonal king crab.  I’ve also had the deep-fried soft shell crab in japanese sushi rolls but I am not sure what type of crab is used (blue crab?).  From what I recall, this was my first time trying mud crab.

We ordered two mud crab (in ginger and green onions), a yee mein (noodles) and a dish of vegetables shared by three people.  There was lots of crab to go around.  To me, the most obvious difference from the usual dungeness crab was the rounded shape of the claw.  The mud crab was really good.  I’m told that it is supposed to be sweeter than dungeness.  I don’t doubt that but I really cannot say for sure.  I was too busy eating to try to think of any comparisons.  Crab-craving?  Definitely satisfied!

only the beginning of my many pieces of mud crab

only the beginning of my many pieces of mud crab

vegetables

vegetables

yee mein

yee mein

East Ocean Restaurant on Urbanspoon

