Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After running my lunch hour errands today, I wandered into the nearest food court and picked up a simple take-out lunch.  As I waited for my order of Greek salad and dolmades, I pondered about a starting point for this post.  It then occurred to me that perhaps my choice for lunch today was subconsciously tipped off by this next food write-up.

Perhaps you’re now wondering, after an afternoon at Sculpture by the Sea in the last post, what was in store for dinner?  Knowing that we planned to be back in Sydney later in the week and not wanting to wait around only to realize that we wouldn’t be able to have mud crab, we started the commute back to Wollongong.

We arrived in Wollongong around 7 pm and after dropping off our luggage, headed out to grab dinner.  V and K suggested going to Samaras Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine for dinner.  I don’t recall trying Lebanese food before and was keen on checking it out.

As we were dining at a later hour on a Sunday evening, we found parking immediately outside the restaurant.  We were seated beside the only other table of guests in the restaurant.  After studying the menu and convincing V that she wanted to share an order of salad with me (it didn’t take much to convince her….), we placed our orders and I eagerly awaited the food.

Here’s what arrived at our table:

Hummus

Hummus

soft drinks

soft drinks

K's order of ...? I think it was chicken... Beirut Chicken...?

K’s order of …? I think it was chicken skewers and salad…

V and I shared an order of Fatoush

V and I shared an order of “Fatoush” (as spelled in the menu)

V's hearty order of Veal Mansaf (I think)

V’s hearty order of Veal Mansaf (I think)

My order of Shish Kebabs (?) ... skewers of lamb, served with tabouli, hummus and chips

My order of Shish Kebabs (?) … skewers of lamb, served with tabouli, hummus and chips

I enjoyed my meal and was happy to be able to eat so much salad.  I must have been craving vegetables.  The food was also very garlicky… VERY garlicky.  In fact, I’m glad we were all eating the same food because at least the smell of garlic was “universal” in the car and in the house.  Waking up the next morning though, I did notice that the garlic scent still lingered in the air.
Samaras on Urbanspoon

