Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After spending three fun and food-filled days in Melbourne, it was time for us to head back to Sydney/Wollongong.  We started the morning by packing away our luggage and double-checking to make sure nothing was left.  With over an hour’s time before leaving for the airport, V and I headed downstairs in search of breakfast.

Hopetoun Tea Rooms is in The Block Arcade on Collins Street within steps of our hotel.  We first saw the desserts display when we were heading out to Affogato for brunch.  The treats in the display window definitely caught my attention and we decided to fit it into our food schedule – somehow, somewhere.

IMG_8955

IMG_8957

a delicious display of dessert

a delicious display of dessert

As it turned out, eating at Hopetoun fit perfectly into our Day 4 schedule.  With the limited time we had, staying within steps of the hotel made sense.  The selection of desserts were slightly different from a few days ago.

I was eyeing either the Swan Lake or Chocolate Strawberry Rolls

I was eyeing either the Swan Lake or Chocolate Strawberry Rolls

We were seated in the tea room and handed our menus.  After studying our options, I decided to have french toast instead of eating a dessert item as breakfast.  V decided to go for the scones and a slice of tart.  And, of course, there my daily Melbourne latte was a must.

french toast

french toast

scones

scones

scones and tart

scones and tart

latte

latte

Overall, the food was only okay.  I think (and possibly V agrees with me) the service could have been better.  The best part of the meal was chatting with the two nice ladies who were seated at the table next to us.  Would I go back there again?  Well… it’s not high on my list.

If we had more time, I would rather walk back to Shanghai Street Dumpling.  As it was, it took so long for us to get our bill that we were cutting it close to the time we had to be at the airport.

Hopetoun Tea Rooms on Urbanspoon

