Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s great to have a couple of days off work.  While everyone else is out there Boxing Day shopping, I get to catch up on my blogging.

How quickly three days in Melbourne came and went!  For our last girls’ getaway evening, V and I decided to have dinner at Taxi Dining Room.  Located at Federation Square, I remember walking by Taxi Dining Room on the first day of our trip.  V pointed out this Japanese fusion restaurant and said that not only is the food good but there is also a view to see.

IMG_9098

We arrived for our dinner reservation as the sun was setting.  As we settled in at our table, our friendly server came by to greet us and tell us the specials of the evening.  He went through all the specials and their descriptions for both the entrees and the mains.  After listening to the mouth-watering list of choices, we were left for a few minutes to read the menu and enjoy the interior.

view of sunset

view of sunset

With my bad memory, I only remembered certain key words (foods) that the server mentioned as he went through the specials list.  When it came to ordering, I couldn’t remember the name and asked for item number “two” in the run-down.  Unfortunately, the server didn’t have a specific order to reciting the specials so he had to repeat all of them until I recognized the one that I wanted.

As we waited for our meal, we continued to admire our surroundings.

butter with some zing

butter with some zing

view of interior

view of interior

view of Arts Centre Melbourne at dusk

view of Arts Centre Melbourne at dusk

Didn’t think we could eat much after our big brunch and our 30-plus dumplings (afternoon snack)?  Wrong…!  V and I each ordered an entree, a main … and of course, a drink to go with it.  I cannot remember all the names of what we ordered but thanks to online menus, I can piece together some of what we ordered.  Unfortunately, the photos are (again) too dark.  That’s a major drawback of having a cheap-y camera in a dark restaurant.  What I can say for sure though is that the service was excellent, the quality of the food was great (fresh!) and the view was spectacular.  It did get a little noisy when the restaurant was packed with people, but I suppose that is what a trendy “dining room” is like.

free sampler of.. something. It was good though!  It didn't last long enough for me to take the photo first...

free sampler of.. something. It was good though! It didn’t last long enough for me to take the photo first…

my entree - I can't remember what it was but I remember it was one of the specials that the server recited.  There was crab in there and tasted fantastic!

my entree – I can’t remember what it was but I remember it was one of the specials that the server recited. There was crab in there and tasted fantastic!

V's entree - I think it was something sashimi-related.

V’s entree – I think it was something sashimi-related.

Our drinks:  I thought V ordered a white wine (but now as I look at the photo, I'm not sure...) and I ordered their Bourne Sage (gin, sage, San Pellegrino syrup, elderflower and cucumber)... San Pellegrino has syrup?!?

Our drinks: I thought V ordered a white wine (but now as I look at the photo, I’m not sure…) and I ordered their Bourne Sage (gin, sage, San Pellegrino syrup, elderflower and cucumber)… San Pellegrino has syrup?!?

Dinner is served!  An order of fish and an order of lamb

Dinner is served! An order of fish and an order of lamb

V's main - Roasted Atlantic salmon, Otway shiitake, asparagus, smoked miso

V’s main – Roasted Atlantic salmon, Otway shiitake, asparagus, smoked miso

My main - Flinders Island lamb saddle with young Spring vegetables & basil jus

My main – Flinders Island lamb saddle with young Spring vegetables & basil jus

Yummy…..
Taxi Dining Room on Urbanspoon

