Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My favourite time of the year for blogging is here. It’s snow season on WordPress again!!  While I don’t drive in the snow, I love the “show falling snow on this blog” option that WordPress offers.  Apparently, it’s only on until early January (January 4th?).

:)   Enough winter talk, back to my fun and food-filled Melbourne trip….

To start off day two of our Melbourne trip, V and I wandered through some laneways in Melbourne and stopped at Affogato Espresso Bar for brunch.  Although the weather forecast did mention showers, we took a gamble and sat outside.  Luckily the weather held out and we even saw a few minutes of sunshine during our meal.

For once, it didn’t take long for me to decide what I wanted for breakfast. Both V and I picked the “Morning Start” which included eggs, toasted ciabatta,  bacon, tomato, garlic mushrooms, spinach, avocado and hash brown.  The only difference in our orders was the scrambled eggs and poached eggs.  My sister told me that the lattes in Melbourne were awesome (she was in Melbourne at the end of August) so I ordered one to go with my brunch.

my first of many lattes in Melbourne

my first of many lattes in Melbourne

V went the orange juice route

V went the orange juice route

IMG_8961

Unfortunately, the meal took a long time because they forgot about our order.   I was starting to wonder why the food was taking so long to prepare… especially when I noticed another table finished their meal, paid, left, someone else sat down, ordered and finished his meal.  :(  The server was very apologetic when he realized that they had forgotten about our order.  Oh well, it’s a good thing that we were in no rush.  The only issue was .. I was starving!!  (I’m pretty sure V was too!)

Brunch eventually arrived and our “morning start” was more like an afternoon start.  The food was very tasty.   The meal was worth the wait and enjoyed every bit of my brunch.  My favourite part of the meal?  I’d say it was the garlic mushrooms.

V's Morning Start with scrambled eggs

V’s Morning Start with scrambled eggs

my Morning Start with poached eggs

my Morning Start with poached eggs

Affogato Espresso Bar on Urbanspoon

 

 

