Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

With the spike in Vancouver temperatures this week, it feels like I’m melting in the heat.  In a previous post, “lethargic” was one word that described the feeling.  With no air conditioning and lack of air circulation at my place, the heat and stuffiness make it difficult to fall asleep at night.  Waking up in the mornings, I sometimes wonder if I really did sleep the previous night or if the excessive heat just knocked me unconscious.

I am not going to deny that I look forward to this weekend’s forecast which promises cooler temperatures.  Until then, I’m stuck with sitting at home by the fan.

There is one thing that I like about the summer.  I love having my seasonal fresh fruit watermelon juice or slush.  Rather than ordering a typical pearl milk tea or other fruit-flavoured slush at a bubble tea place, I lean towards the refreshing fresh watermelon juice.  Sometimes I will go for a thirst-quenching watermelon slush … which is probably just some watermelon juice with lots of blended ice.

I do not go out for bubble tea as often as I used to.  However, when I do, I like going to The One Restaurant in Burnaby.  I’ve tried a few things on their menu but I tend to default to one of my favourite items:  deep-fried chicken nuggets.

Deep Fried Chicken Nuggets

Deep Fried Chicken Nuggets with Bean Thread in Soup

To accompany the chicken nuggets, I usually order some noodles in soup.  I’ve tried ordering the flat noodles but they get a bit too slippery and messy for me to eat.  I have taken a liking to the bean thread.  I do have one complaint about the bean thread in soup.  Can you tell from the photo?  Did you guess….. “oily”…?  Yes, that’s my biggest issue … the soup is soooo oily!  :(

Of course, I also order the fresh watermelon juice or slush.  The juice is just served in a glass – not very exciting.  The slush, however, is served a little differently.  How so?  Some say “A picture is worth a thousand words.”   Check out these two photos…

Fresh Watermelon Slush

Fresh Watermelon Slush split into another glass before it melts

While these two pictures do a good job of describing the towering slush, I really think you need to see it in person.

The One Restaurant 美味關係 on Urbanspoon

