Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I really do admire those people who can blog everyday.  I have often sat in front of my computer with full intentions of blogging something.  However, writer’s block tends to settle in as I click on the “Add New” button.

I meant to blog about this dinner earlier but just have not done so yet.  No, not since Christmas — just the end of May.  Vince and I meet up for dinner from time to time and as he didn’t know what to get me for Christmas, he opted to take me out for dinner sometime.  I’m usually the one who has difficulty finding gifts for other people but apparently in this situation, I was the more difficult one to buy for.

Due to our remarkably different schedules, meeting up with Vince isn’t always an easy task.  If it’s not a practice that he has to attend, then it was a weekend course that I was taking.  Or maybe it’s that business trip that he was on or the dinner plans that I already have with other friends.  After weeks and months of comparing schedules, we finally managed to meet up at the end of May for my belated Christmas gift.

Vince let me pick the place but knowing that he had never been to Stonegrill before, it wasn’t a difficult choice.  I should point out that I don’t like the Stonegrill website.  Well, I don’t even know if Stonegrill Vancouver has its own website.  The only links I found after a bit of online searching included a number of diner review websites and one site that almost seems like a “this-is-the-stonegrill-concept” website.  Nothing that could help me determine what food is offered or what their menu looks like.  Having said all that though, I have been to Stonegrill at least 3 times over the last 6 years and I think the menu hasn’t changed much overall.

Stonegrill

view outside of Stonegrill

Vince was really excited about going to Stonegrill.  I think I can confidently say that he was more excited than me.  How did I determine that?  Well…. usually I am the one who totes around the camera strapped to my wrist taking pictures of almost every dish in sight.  In this case, I took a few scenery and food photos then returned the camera to my purse.  Vince, on the other hand, was constantly taking pictures — mostly of the scenery, but he definitely took many more photos than I did.

Instead of ordering the set dinners, we decided to order appetizers and entrees separately. I opted for a fresh salad and went on the recommendation of the friendly server.  Apparently Vince likes raw oysters.  I have never been a big fan of raw oysters.  I tried one before but they have never been very appealing to me.  Eew…  However, being a good sport, I did try one.

our appetizers

Vince’s seafood chowder

oysters

my fresh salad

the oyster that I tried

Shortly after the appetizers were cleared off the table, our entrees were served.  Vince picked a surf & turf while I went for the prawns and scallops.  The raw meat and seafood were served to the table on volcanic stones heated to about 400 degrees Celsius.  At my first visit to Stonegrill years ago, I ordered the sea bass.  It was very tasty but I remember spending the first few minutes fending myself from the splattering oil.   That is… until my friend pulled the sea bass off the stone for me.  This time, I picked something that was less likely to attack me.

Vince’s surf & turf

my prawns & scallops meal

prawns & scallops

Although it took a long time for me to collect up my Christmas gift from Vince, there were definite benefits to having the dinner in May.  With the increased hours of daylight, it was still quite light out after our dinner.

aquabus

still light out after

Thanks again for the Christmas gift, Vince!

Stonegrill on Urbanspoon

