Tags

, , , ,

After a stretch of rainy days, it is nice to see the sunny weather again.

Yesterday, I attended a farewell dinner for my friend, Jeff.  He is taking a temporary position in another department and his coworkers decided to organize a going-away dinner at The Boathouse Restaurant in Richmond.

I’m really bad with directions.  To reduce the chance of getting lost, I printed out the map and even called the restaurant for directions.  In case you are wondering, no, I don’t have GPS.  Needless to say, the “adventures” of driving seemed endless when I missed the turnoff point to River Road, headed over the bridge and was greeted with signs outlining my options as Vancouver, Cessna Drive and Airport South Terminal.  After circling around a few times and back and forth over the surrounding bridges, I finally found the little turnoff point to the restaurant.  It’s okay… I still arrived earlier than Jeff.

Our party was seated off to one side of the restaurant so we were able to have our own private area.  Unfortunately, we did not have a view of the water but rather of the bushes and the parking lot.  Good thing we had a well-attended and great party going on.  Water view?  Who needs a view!

According to the menu, The Boathouse is currently offering a 3 Course 30th Anniversary Dinner.  I decided to try it out and here’s what I ordered.

Starter: Crispy Calamari

Entree: Northwest Seafood Pasta

Dessert: Blueberry Creme Brulee

The food was delicious and I am glad that I tried it out.  The calamari was crispy on the outside but tender on the inside and the seafood pasta was flavourful.  Although I was rather full by the time dessert was served, I still managed to finish the entire creme brulee!  :) (There’s always room for dessert…)

Boathouse on Urbanspoon

