Tags

, ,

Friday was a beautiful, sunny day.  With no lunch plans set or urgent errands to run, I decided to walk over to One Saigon and try their lunch specials.  I have walked by on my way to appointments or running errands and thought to myself to try out One Saigon some day.    Although I remember seeing the sign outside the shop advertising their daily specials, I could not recall the specific special for Fridays.

After a leisurely stroll in the sun, I arrived at One Saigon.  Like most of the other shops on that 900-block of Hornby Street, the interior was long and narrow.  Tables were lined on either side of the shop and except for one unoccupied table, it looked like a “full house” in there.  Since the weather was nice and I did not want to risk smelling like my food (often a difficulty with many smaller shops), I opted for take-out.  The advertised daily special for Friday was a prawn and papaya salad plus smoothie.  I decided to deviate from the normal strawberry smoothie and ordered a lychee smoothie instead.

I placed my order with the friendly girl at the cash register and took my number to wait outside.  It felt good to bask in the warmth of the sun as I people-watched.  It was a pretty short wait before the friendly girl presented me with my take-out package and smoothie.

I walked back to the office and enjoyed my take-out lunch there.  The prawn and papaya salad was really crunchy and the lychee smoothie was sweet – perfect for a sunny Friday afternoon.  Next time, I’m going to try the pho.

Prawn and Papaya Salad with Lychee Smoothie

One Saigon on Urbanspoon

