Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last weekend, Barb & Winston invited me to the “Chinese New Year Dinner 2012″ hosted by the Filipino-Chinese Association of British Columbia (FILCHIBC).  The 11-course banquet was held at the Flamingo Restaurant in Vancouver.  What a fabulous selection of tasty food.  My favourites were the butterfly prawns, the minced meat and egg tofu as well as the noodles.  (And for once, I was bright enough to take a photo of the menu so I can properly label the photos!)

The Menu

Peking Duck

Butterfly Prawns in Orange Glaze Sauce

Lettuce Wrap with Minced Duck Meat (part 1)

Lettuce Wrap with Minced Duck Meat (part 2)

Assorted Meat Soup with Chinese Chives

Braised Chinese Mushroom with Bamboo Pit and Baby Bok Choy

Crispy Skin Chicken

Minced Meat with Egg Tofu

Steamed Filet of Fish in Soya Sauce

Young Chow Fried Rice

Long Life Noodles

Red Bean Sweet Soup

Two Kinds of Chinese Pastries

In addition to a delicious meal, there were several performances and presentations that evening: 2011 activities video, children’s mandarin class presentation, singing, games, raffle prizes and a 50/50 draw.  I was pretty close to winning the 50/50 draw…. my number was only two tickets away!!  I think that is the closest that I’ve ever been!

The big highlight of the evening was watching Winston receive recognition for his accomplishments and contributions as a Filipino-Chinese in Canada. Yay, Winston!!!

Flamingo House Chinese Cuisine 紅鶴酒家 on Urbanspoon

