Tags

, , , ,

Two weeks ago, my friends J & C got married in a very private but sweet wedding ceremony.  I was one of the fortunate people who witnessed the exchanging of their vows and shared their joy at this special occasion.  I was also invited to attend the dinner reception that celebrated this special day.

In case it wasn’t obvious before — yes, I love food.  I particularly enjoy feasting on a ten or twelve-course Chinese banquet.  As you can probably imagine, I was elated when we went to Western Lake Chinese Seafood Restaurant for dinner that evening.  I have been to Western Lake for dim sum before and was impressed with their dim sum menu.  However, due to the crowds, the line-ups and the limited parking during dim sum, I have not been there in a few years now.   Since we had a reservation (and I wasn’t the one driving), I was excited about trying their dinner menu.

As always, my favourite items include the jellyfish in the appetizer plate, the crab claws, the crab in the superior broth and the e-fu noodles.  I am especially fond of crab claws and the crab claws served in this meal were huge!  In my estimation, they are at least one and a half times the size of most other places! (Yes, I was very happy girl…)  What I was also pleasantly surprised with was the substitution of peking duck wraps and lettuce wraps for something (I’m not sure what was taken out from our menu) as well as the substitution from the regular dessert to the baked tapioca pudding.  Normally I skip the fried rice as I usually opt for the noodles but this fried rice was worth trying.  Needless to say, I left dinner very full and very content.  The food was very, very yummy – I am getting hungry just thinking about it again!

Congratulations and Thank You, J & C!!!

Western Lake Appetizer Plate

Duck wraps

Filling for lettuce wraps

Scallops and Prawns with Greens

Deep Fried Stuffed Crab Claws

Shark Fin Crab Meat Soup

Lobster and Crab Braised in Superior Broth

Western Lake Specialty Salt Range Chicken

Steamed Live Fish

Braised E-Fu Noodles in Abalone Sauce

Dried Scallops and Egg Whites Fried Rice

Baked Tapioca Pudding

Western Lake Chinese Seafood 西湖海鮮酒家 on Urbanspoon

 

